Newbie Transmission issues - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Newbie Transmission issues

FS: Wrangler RGB Multicolor Fog Light LEDs: Awesome EffectSavvy Aluminum Gas Tank SkidFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Unread 07-15-2013, 07:55 PM   #1
Seantroost12
2000 WJ 

Newbie Transmission issues

Hey, I'm new to working on vehicles and my father inlaw told me to post my issue here because he is camping. Him and I have done a motor swap recently.

I have a WJ with a 4.7 motor and a 5-45rfe transmission.

The jeep gives me no codes as of right now. The code it gave two days ago was p1968.

The first thing I noticed is when I start the jeep I see o/d off and then it goes off like it should. I hit the o/d button on the "Shifter" and nothing happens. It dosn't show the o/d off like it should. ( I dont drive it with the over drive off )

Now when I take off it feels like I have no power at all. The Transmission feels like its slipping. When I manually go to 1st gear and then change to second gear it doesn't switch to second gear it stays into 1st. When I go into Drive it will go into that but only up to 50 and I dont feel like going faster because the RPS goes up close to 3 1/2. I cant figure this problem out so I was hoping someone could help me out. Thank you for your time and I hope I can hear from someone soon. - Sean

Seantroost12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2013, 09:07 PM   #2
asatxj
2001 WJ 

We have a rebuilt trans with 30k that we may swap (I'm dad in law btw) but if it can be solved it would be nice. He will be swapping the TCM as a scan tool says the trans isn't communicating with the TCM. Update on that soon. If not we are off to swap a trans!