need new pcm! - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > need new pcm!

Jeep Wrangler Wheel Bearing & Hub - FrontJeep Grand Cherokee Window RegulatorComponent speaker deal for your dash - NalinMFG

Reply
Unread 07-25-2014, 11:54 AM   #1
Jrboarder27
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Posts: 1,012
need new pcm!

My 4.7 is currently in the shop and it sounds like I need a new pcm still have my fingers crossed. If this is the case what are my options and what prices should I be looking at, and can I replace this my self.

Jrboarder27 is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-25-2014, 01:23 PM   #2
99WJ01TJ
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Monroe, NY
Posts: 369
You can replace it yourself, but to do so make sure wherever you get it from flashes your vin and mileage. Cost varies between 150.00 on eBay to 200ish from online companies like cardone, pcm exchange, acr.com, etc.
99WJ01TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-25-2014, 01:31 PM   #3
Jrboarder27
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Posts: 1,012
OK and if those companies flash it does that mean I don't have to have a dealer program it. And it looks like once I get it is just plug and play, is that right?
Jrboarder27 is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-25-2014, 01:42 PM   #4
99WJ01TJ
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Monroe, NY
Posts: 369
Correct. The flash is basically what the dealer would do if you took it to them to replace it. Very simple job to do. Will take you about 20-30 mins if its your first time. Just a pointer, remove the coolant reservoir, and (not necessary but very helpful) the TCU. Makes pulling the ecu solo much easier.
99WJ01TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-25-2014, 02:42 PM   #5
Jeeples
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: forum/f310/, UT
Posts: 4,322
Don't buy from any ECM 'remanufacturers' based out of Florida, a quick Google search (and on here subsequently) will show you why.

Either purchase a used ECM and have it flashed to you VIN by the local dealer/parts store, or purchase a reman'd A1 Cardone online or locally.
__________________
His: '00 WJ 4.7 Limited- stock

Hers: '03 WJ 4.7 V8- IRO 3", 245/75/16 Duratracs
Jeeples is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-25-2014, 02:50 PM   #6
Jrboarder27
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Posts: 1,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeeples View Post
Don't buy from any ECM 'remanufacturers' based out of Florida, a quick Google search (and on here subsequently) will show you why.

Either purchase a used ECM and have it flashed to you VIN by the local dealer/parts store, or purchase a reman'd A1 Cardone online or locally.
Thank you, I was looking at a1 cardone already so I will stock with them.
Jrboarder27 is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-25-2014, 06:21 PM   #7
Jrboarder27
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Posts: 1,012
I read some were that I had to have it programed to my keys,is that true?
Jrboarder27 is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-25-2014, 06:31 PM   #8
99WJ01TJ
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Monroe, NY
Posts: 369
Varies from jeep to jeep but when they flash the ecu the skim is uploaded via your vin info. If you added a skim to yours and your ecu was flashed to accommodate said skim, then yes skim would have to be added to your new ecu. Mine came from cardone and have had no skim issues ever.
99WJ01TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-25-2014, 08:50 PM   #9
Jrboarder27
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Posts: 1,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99WJ01TJ View Post
You can replace it yourself, but to do so make sure wherever you get it from flashes your vin and mileage. Cost varies between 150.00 on eBay to 200ish from online companies like cardone, pcm exchange, acr.com, etc.
do you mean all computer resources, and how about jeep pcm direct.
Jrboarder27 is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-26-2014, 06:04 AM   #10
99WJ01TJ
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Monroe, NY
Posts: 369
Yes acr.com is all computer resources. Its 50/50 with them, and any company that you go through. I ha e a lo g story about my 2nd card one unit but WO t go into that on your thread jeep direct is an option but remember that they no longer make our ECU's so they are selling you a "refurb" for 700.00 and then charging another 150.00 to flash and install it.
99WJ01TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-28-2014, 12:22 AM   #11
Rick14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: North Hollywood, CA
Posts: 20
I kind of have the feeling that those who replaced the computer but still had problems, didn't repair the problem in the 1st place. I would be great if you could pull codes but many of these sensors will not set off a code. I replaced 6 sensors with no luck thinking the computer was going to be a nightmare but when I finally decided to replace the ECU, it was a breeze! I ordered it from a company in Fla and they claimed that besides flashing it that it was gone over, tested and re-soldered or that they replaced offending chips, transistors or what-ever else it is they could replace. Again it was very easy and I'm ecstatic but try to troubleshoot everything else first, including grounding and cleaning connections. In my case the problem was definitely the ECU.
Rick14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread Today, 12:12 PM   #12
Jrboarder27
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Boulder, Colorado
Posts: 1,012
So two dealerships are telling me that the pcm needs to be installed on the vehicle in order for them to program it, is this true
Jrboarder27 is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread Today, 01:36 PM   #13
brad_12
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Independence, WI
Posts: 38
I went with A1 Cardone and just had the dealership do all flashing for $75 and they did need it installed in the jeep so it communicates with everything.
__________________
99 WJ Laredo 4.7 QT II 2" Fat Bob's K&N CAI Dynomax Exhaust Warrior Wheels 245/70/16 Cooper ATP
brad_12 is online now   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.