Need advice: looking at a WJ to buy, trying to clarify issues - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Need advice: looking at a WJ to buy, trying to clarify issues

2007-2014 Jeep Wrangler Black (Paint to Match) Grille2007-2014 Jeep Wrangler Black Sun Shade (Rugged Ridge)Advance Adapters SYE Kits

Unread 11-06-2013, 12:09 PM   #1
DirtDodd
1999 WJ 

Question Need advice: looking at a WJ to buy, trying to clarify issues

Hey Guys,
I'm looking at buying a buddy's WJ, but it has some issues that are concerning me bc I'm not sure what they indicate exactly, if anything, and I've read the buyer's guide (good stuff!), as well as a few other threads, so now turning to the experts for help! I'm new to the WJ, have only owned XJs and ZJs with the 4.0L.

It's a 1999 Limited 4.7L with Quadra-drive. 127,000 miles, runs great, shifts smooth, 4wd operating perfectly, and body and interior in great shape. Here are the issues:

Main one - lots of transmission fluid on the bottom of the pan of the transmission. Wet on the sides of the transmission, even above the pan gasket. What are the possible culprits? Overfilled? Bad pan gasket (hasn't been serviced as far as he knows)? Something going wrong internally and losing fluid out the vent? He was surprised by it, and the jeep sits in his garage almost all the time now, with no drip spots or puddles...?