3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 09-19-2017, 02:38 PM Thread Starter
calicowilly13
2001 WJ 

Garage
Wj My New WJ

Good Afternoon All,

I just purchased (within the last 3 weeks) my first WJ. I want to start a vehicle and maintenance diary of the process I will take turning it into a Daily Driving/Weekend Warrior vehicle I can use to continue the family tradition of Outdoor Activities. I have an 8yo daughter who I would like to disengage from Tech and TV so she can experience the wonders of our country. I am an Army Veteran of 11 years and come from a long line of Service Members. My father owned a 1991 Izuzu Rodeo 4x4 growing up, and would take us on trips into the Sierra Nevada's every summer for trout fishing, camping, and hiking.

Ok, so now to the Jeep lol.

Year/make/model: 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4x4. 4.0l I6, 42RE trans, SelecTrac NV242. Dana30 in front Dana35C in rear.

Known issues at time of purchase: Rust on front fenders(Salt from the roads I assume), Check Engine Light(need to get the code numbers but was told PCM and Speed Sensors).

I stumbled upon the forum site and signed up after purchase.

I purchased the WJ knowing the above issues. The other dominant issues associated with WJ's seem to be ok (Blend Door, Transfer Case). I do need to service the brakes (rear DS is caked with something; more on that later). Below is an update of current known issues. It will be similar to a diary style.

8/28/17 Purchased. Check Engine Light, Rust, DS Rear Window and Lock will not work.

9/2/17 Drove to Denver to pick up girlfriend. 516 miles round trip. Rode great no issues, passed the 200,000 mile mark on the engine. All fluids ok. Avg. MPG 20.8