Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Knocking Sound After Seafoaming

9K views 102 replies 18 participants last post by  EmersonHart13 
#1 · (Edited)
Knocking Sound After Seafoaming/Vibrating at High Speeds

HI Fellow Jeepers!! First user for me I am new at this whole jeep forum thing so if this topic has been discussed I am sorry and would love the link to read about it.

So I have a buddy who used seafoam on his Jeep and he said it makes a world of difference. It runs better, better gas mileage and so on. So I look into it and ok not a bad Idea. So I do the bottle 1/3 in the brake booster, 1/3 on the oil, the rest in the gas tank... When I did mine after seeing everyone else do it I was expecting a TON of white smoke... I got a little blue smoke some white smoke but nothing to the effect of seafoams website, or you tube. Also after do this I noticed that all of a sudden my engine has a knocking noise coming from what I can tell the lower part of the engine as you really don't hear it standing over the top of the engine, but you can while in it and it's only at idle. Also my idle is a little jumpy between 5-700 RPM at idle in park. NO knocking when I accelerate or while stopped at a light in drive. Anyone ever come across this?

Info on Jeep 03 Overland 4.7 HO 65,000 miles on it. after I heard the noise I changed the oil has been synthetic since I've owned it now for 3 years whatever the dealers synthetic was then it switched to pennzoil ultra 10W-30. I saved a ton and started doing them myself as the dealer was charging me cheap like 39 for an oil change instead of the 80+ whatever it is.. But the guy who I knew quit... Anyways. any help/thoughts would be appreciated.

Recent Service done by me: Replaced the High Pressure Power Steering Hose as it was leaking BAD. Changed the transfer case fluid (quadradrive NV247) and both front and rear Diff's by removing the covers and then cleaning it out and using the mopar suggested RTV.