Huh?? What is it??? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Huh?? What is it???

Jeep Wrangler Bushwacker Flat Fender Flare Sale at BaselinNew jk doors from steinjagerEliminate Hood Flutter!!!

Unread 05-07-2014, 03:26 PM   #1
DanniK13
1999 WJ 

Huh?? What is it???

Hi! I'm new to working on vehicles, but I can fix almost anything when put to it. So can anyone explain this to me?

image-591547815.jpg

The hose is covered in a very clean oil. It doesn't look like engine oil. It drips every so often.

Help?

DanniK13 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-07-2014, 03:31 PM   #2
Jeeples
2000 WJ 

Power steering hose.

Hers: '03 WJ 4.7 V8- IRO 3", 245/75/16 Duratracs
Jeeples is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-07-2014, 03:41 PM   #3
DanniK13
1999 WJ 

That's what I was thinking but the question is, should I just replace the hose? Power steering goes out when I try to park or cuts on and off while driving. Should I think about doing the pump too?
Unread 05-07-2014, 03:42 PM   #4
gold01wj
2000 WJ 

Does it have fluid in it??? If it's been run low for a while the pump is probably shot
Unread 05-07-2014, 03:46 PM   #5
DanniK13
1999 WJ 

It is 100% full, that's why I'm stumped.
Unread 05-08-2014, 08:28 AM   #6
Jeeples
2000 WJ 

I had a similar experience with an aftermarket A1 Cardone pump, where the power assist would cut out when turning the wheel at low speed (parking lots, turning from a stop light, etc). It took a couple of tries to get a pump that was quiet like the OE pump or wouldn't randomly cut out. If I were to do it again I would go with a reman'd Mopar pump.

Hers: '03 WJ 4.7 V8- IRO 3", 245/75/16 Duratracs