How do I change the Crankshaft Position Sensor 2000 Laredo 4.0 - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > How do I change the Crankshaft Position Sensor 2000 Laredo 4.0

FS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! Clayton Off Road JK Short Arm Suspension Kits~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~

Unread 09-16-2009, 06:32 PM   #1
JeepCreep5150

How do I change the Crankshaft Position Sensor 2000 Laredo 4.0

Could someone please tell me, step by step, how to change the Crankshaft Position Sensor on a 2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.0? My wife went to start it and it wouldn't fire. I put a new coil on it but that didn't solve my prob. Please be clear as I am only a basic mechanic when I have to be. in advance.

JeepCreep5150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-16-2009, 06:44 PM   #2
iluvtruenos
2000 WJ 

Find someone with small, girly hands and have them do it.

Rampant Pack of Retards group president.
2000 WJ, 4.5l, AX15, 242 D60/14b, 5.5" lift front, 7.5" rear. Ford Expedition rear coils, Ram 350 shocks, JKS, IRO Long Arms, cool Badlands flag thingy.
1987 XJ - Gone but not forgotten
iluvtruenos is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-16-2009, 06:51 PM   #3
cmonson

the cam postion sensor is above by the oil filter and takes mins to change.

Just note and mark the exact position of the rotor, remove the wire clip, remove the bolt, pull out cam position sensor.

Install in reverse making sure the position is the same.

The guy in the post above is maybe thinking of the CRANK position sensor.
cmonson is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-17-2009, 12:04 AM   #4
iluvtruenos
2000 WJ 

Yes, yes, I am, sorry.

I have a spare cam position sensor if you want it, I pulled mine, and it wasn't the problem.