HELP Jeep keeps shutting off - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > HELP Jeep keeps shutting off

*VOTE NOW Help Metalcloak Giveaway an XJ Suspension*TJ 5.25" Speaker Adapters - NalinMFGThe Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!

Reply
Unread 03-28-2011, 09:13 AM   #1
Billmild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 146
HELP Jeep keeps shutting off

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee V8 limited. It has 4wd. 72,xxx miles on it.

So basically here is the deal I start the truck up and drive, and while driving it will just cut out or shut off completely. Just dead. I will restart it and it might be okay for a little bit but it will shut off again. One of the times the Check Gauges light came on and there was 0 oil pressure. But after I restarted it there was no issue. Sometimes it shuts off right after starting up. I just replaced the TPS sensor and that had no change on the car at all. Not sure what to do. Should I have it towed to the dealer?

Billmild is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2011, 09:15 AM   #2
yrkoverland
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 760
Is your CEL on? If so do the on-off-on-off-on key trick to get the code(s) in your instrument cluster.

If not if you are capable i'd replace the crank position sensor (CPS) but only use one from the dealer.
__________________
2000 WJ- 4.7L HO swap, 247, 4" tera-flex lift, 32's, KOR Rock Rails, IRO Skid, etc...

2007 VW Touareg V10 TDI gobs of torque!

2004 Audi A8L Luxobarge

2008 Z06 cammed and slammed
yrkoverland is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2011, 09:17 AM   #3
Billmild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 146
The CEL is not on. Crank position sensor? Why only from the dealer? How hard is it to change. Its stuck in a parking lot right now.

This is the V8
Billmild is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2011, 09:47 AM   #4
narnwv
Moderator
 
narnwv's Avatar
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cross Lanes, WV
Posts: 6,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billmild View Post
Why only from the dealer?
You never want to use any non Mopar/Jeep sensors in a Jeep. The WJ's electrical system is sensitive enough that the tolerances in "parts store" sensors are not close enough to factory specs. Especially on the crank sensor, since it's a pain in the butt.
__________________
~Aaron

narnwv is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2011, 09:49 AM   #5
99JGCWJ
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nassau County, New York
Posts: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billmild
The CEL is not on. Crank position sensor? Why only from the dealer? How hard is it to change. Its stuck in a parking lot right now.

This is the V8
The reason why you should get dealer only is because Jeeps don't like after market sensors.

Sent from my VM670 using JeepForum
__________________
SIX IN A ROW MAKES IT GO!!!
99JGCWJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2011, 10:20 AM   #6
Billmild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 146
I will pick up a crank sensor for the Jeep. Its $54 from the dealer. How hard is it to change.
Billmild is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2011, 01:33 PM   #7
TSyl
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 414
Double check connections to battery, make certain they are clean and tight.
TSyl is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2011, 02:59 PM   #8
Billmild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 146
So the dealer part will make a difference here? I just find it hard to see that the part from Autozone or whatever isn't good enough?
Billmild is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2011, 03:02 PM   #9
yrkoverland
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 760
It is hard to tell exactly what is wrong, but the CPS is a very common problem as are loose battery connections.

As stated here the WJ's don't like aftermarket electrical sensors for some reason.

So yes if the CPS is currently on the fritz then a new one from the dealer will fix you up.

If not then you just did some PM for the future.
__________________
2000 WJ- 4.7L HO swap, 247, 4" tera-flex lift, 32's, KOR Rock Rails, IRO Skid, etc...

2007 VW Touareg V10 TDI gobs of torque!

2004 Audi A8L Luxobarge

2008 Z06 cammed and slammed
yrkoverland is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2011, 03:56 PM   #10
narnwv
Moderator
 
narnwv's Avatar
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cross Lanes, WV
Posts: 6,179
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billmild View Post
So the dealer part will make a difference here? I just find it hard to see that the part from Autozone or whatever isn't good enough?
The WJs are just very particular.

For instance:
If your battery terminal isn't 100% tight, your gauges quit working, when everything else works fine, and other oddities like that.
__________________
~Aaron

narnwv is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2011, 06:34 PM   #11
Billmild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 146
Okay so I bought the sensor. I get no codes at all on my car. 0 codes. I would like to say I tried to remove the starter and that was damn near impossible. Is there another way to replace this sensor? I was not sure how to remove that starter.
Billmild is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2011, 07:31 PM   #12
narnwv
Moderator
 
narnwv's Avatar
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cross Lanes, WV
Posts: 6,179
you've just gotta keep wedging the starter until you find the best angle to get it out.


The IAC and TPS both get out of spec, without throwing any codes as well. (more electrical issues the WJ is particular about)
__________________
~Aaron

narnwv is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2011, 07:46 PM   #13
Billmild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 146
I could maybe get one bolt. But the one on top was near impossible. Needless to say I was unable to get either of them. Do I just need to use a u joint and extensions or what. It is crammed in there
Billmild is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-28-2011, 11:36 PM   #14
nlynd1978
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mchenry county, Illinois, Illinois
Posts: 627
Starter is easy to take out. Once the bolts are out you move the starter out of the way. you dont have to disconnect any of the wires. Cps is a breeze to change then. However you may find out its not your cps. I went thry something similar last year with my jeep. Ended up being the pcm. Check the thread in my sig.
__________________
01 GC Limited, Quadradrive, 4.0

Looking for help- http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f13/completely-turns-off-while-driving-no-codes-1049268/
nlynd1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-29-2011, 04:44 PM   #15
Bluedragon
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 93
Mine was doing the same thing. It was the PCM! Had it replaced and it's been good for about a month so far now.


http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f310/...lator-1166738/
Bluedragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.