HELP Jeep keeps shutting off - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 Old 03-28-2011, 09:13 AM Thread Starter
Billmild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 317
HELP Jeep keeps shutting off

2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee V8 limited. It has 4wd. 72,xxx miles on it.

So basically here is the deal I start the truck up and drive, and while driving it will just cut out or shut off completely. Just dead. I will restart it and it might be okay for a little bit but it will shut off again. One of the times the Check Gauges light came on and there was 0 oil pressure. But after I restarted it there was no issue. Sometimes it shuts off right after starting up. I just replaced the TPS sensor and that had no change on the car at all. Not sure what to do. Should I have it towed to the dealer?

Billmild is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 Old 03-28-2011, 09:15 AM
yrkoverland
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 760
Is your CEL on? If so do the on-off-on-off-on key trick to get the code(s) in your instrument cluster.

If not if you are capable i'd replace the crank position sensor (CPS) but only use one from the dealer.

2000 WJ- 4.7L HO swap, 247, 4" tera-flex lift, 32's, KOR Rock Rails, IRO Skid, etc...

2007 VW Touareg V10 TDI gobs of torque!

2004 Audi A8L Luxobarge

2008 Z06 cammed and slammed
yrkoverland is offline  
post #3 of 17 Old 03-28-2011, 09:17 AM Thread Starter
Billmild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 317
The CEL is not on. Crank position sensor? Why only from the dealer? How hard is it to change. Its stuck in a parking lot right now.

This is the V8
Billmild is offline  
post #4 of 17 Old 03-28-2011, 09:47 AM
narnwv
Moderator
 
narnwv's Avatar
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cross Lanes
Posts: 6,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billmild View Post
Why only from the dealer?
You never want to use any non Mopar/Jeep sensors in a Jeep. The WJ's electrical system is sensitive enough that the tolerances in "parts store" sensors are not close enough to factory specs. Especially on the crank sensor, since it's a pain in the butt.
narnwv is offline  
post #5 of 17 Old 03-28-2011, 09:49 AM
99JGCWJ
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nassau County, New York
Posts: 377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billmild
The CEL is not on. Crank position sensor? Why only from the dealer? How hard is it to change. Its stuck in a parking lot right now.

This is the V8
The reason why you should get dealer only is because Jeeps don't like after market sensors.

Sent from my VM670 using JeepForum

SIX IN A ROW MAKES IT GO!!!
99JGCWJ is offline  
post #6 of 17 Old 03-28-2011, 10:20 AM Thread Starter
Billmild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 317
I will pick up a crank sensor for the Jeep. Its $54 from the dealer. How hard is it to change.
Billmild is offline  
post #7 of 17 Old 03-28-2011, 01:33 PM
TSyl
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO
Posts: 412
Double check connections to battery, make certain they are clean and tight.
TSyl is offline  
post #8 of 17 Old 03-28-2011, 02:59 PM Thread Starter
Billmild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 317
So the dealer part will make a difference here? I just find it hard to see that the part from Autozone or whatever isn't good enough?
Billmild is offline  
post #9 of 17 Old 03-28-2011, 03:02 PM
yrkoverland
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 760
It is hard to tell exactly what is wrong, but the CPS is a very common problem as are loose battery connections.

As stated here the WJ's don't like aftermarket electrical sensors for some reason.

So yes if the CPS is currently on the fritz then a new one from the dealer will fix you up.

If not then you just did some PM for the future.

2000 WJ- 4.7L HO swap, 247, 4" tera-flex lift, 32's, KOR Rock Rails, IRO Skid, etc...

2007 VW Touareg V10 TDI gobs of torque!

2004 Audi A8L Luxobarge

2008 Z06 cammed and slammed
yrkoverland is offline  
post #10 of 17 Old 03-28-2011, 03:56 PM
narnwv
Moderator
 
narnwv's Avatar
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cross Lanes
Posts: 6,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by Billmild View Post
So the dealer part will make a difference here? I just find it hard to see that the part from Autozone or whatever isn't good enough?
The WJs are just very particular.

For instance:
If your battery terminal isn't 100% tight, your gauges quit working, when everything else works fine, and other oddities like that.
narnwv is offline  
post #11 of 17 Old 03-28-2011, 06:34 PM Thread Starter
Billmild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 317
Okay so I bought the sensor. I get no codes at all on my car. 0 codes. I would like to say I tried to remove the starter and that was damn near impossible. Is there another way to replace this sensor? I was not sure how to remove that starter.
Billmild is offline  
post #12 of 17 Old 03-28-2011, 07:31 PM
narnwv
Moderator
 
narnwv's Avatar
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Cross Lanes
Posts: 6,417
you've just gotta keep wedging the starter until you find the best angle to get it out.


The IAC and TPS both get out of spec, without throwing any codes as well. (more electrical issues the WJ is particular about)
narnwv is offline  
post #13 of 17 Old 03-28-2011, 07:46 PM Thread Starter
Billmild
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: KC, MO
Posts: 317
I could maybe get one bolt. But the one on top was near impossible. Needless to say I was unable to get either of them. Do I just need to use a u joint and extensions or what. It is crammed in there

2008 Grand Cherokee CRD-Stock
Billmild is offline  
post #14 of 17 Old 03-28-2011, 11:36 PM
nlynd1978
Registered User
2006 XK Commander 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Mchenry county, Illinois
Posts: 633
Starter is easy to take out. Once the bolts are out you move the starter out of the way. you dont have to disconnect any of the wires. Cps is a breeze to change then. However you may find out its not your cps. I went thry something similar last year with my jeep. Ended up being the pcm. Check the thread in my sig.

06 Commander Limited,4.7,130k
01 GC Limited,QD-II,4.0,236k-sold
99 GC Laredo,QT-II,4.7,96k-Sold
nlynd1978 is offline  
post #15 of 17 Old 03-29-2011, 04:44 PM
Bluedragon
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Denver
Posts: 93
Mine was doing the same thing. It was the PCM! Had it replaced and it's been good for about a month so far now.


http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f310/...lator-1166738/
Bluedragon is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
HELP! Keeps shutting off while driving justmelanee WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 2 12-07-2010 01:48 PM
Just bought my 3rd Jeep! 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee! drew8742 WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 7 11-11-2010 04:13 PM
1999 Grand Cherokee engine shutting off avfd40 WJ Grand Cherokee Forum 2 11-11-2010 07:40 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome