Hard/rough shifting - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Hard/rough shifting

ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO Alloy usa heavy duty ball joint kitsWe have FLASHLIGHTS! Great for your Emergency bag!

Unread 11-09-2012, 11:00 AM   #1
Jaspah
2002 WJ 

Hard/rough shifting

Hi guys, been lurking for just over a month now, but this is my first time actually posting here.

I bought a 2002 Grand Cherokee Laredo, 4.0, with 138,000 miles on it. It's in pretty good shape, especially for being in the Syracuse, NY area (salt city). It drives fine-- no slipping or anything like that, however, while driving (around 2000 RPM) if I put my foot to the floor it will shift hard like a jerking motion. None of the other gears shift no where near as hard as that one does. Otherwise, everything else about the Jeep has been great so far. We checked the transmission fluid (following instructions in the handbook) and it was at the correct level.

I don't normally "floor" it, but occasionally on hilly roads the cruise control will throw it into that gear anyway, and you can really feel it on hills.

There is also a very slight vibration while idling and in first gear, but nothing serious.

Is this the precursor to a more serious problem with my transmission?

Thanks guys.

Jaspah is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-09-2012, 11:41 AM   #2
K10roc

if you crank sensor is failing it can give hard shifts... you getting any check engine light? any codes? when did you last change the fluid