Front end noise, axel Seal, CV Joint - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Front end noise, axel Seal, CV Joint

JEEP Gear Change Packages From ROCKRIDGE 4WD. We Are DIFFCurrieZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4w

Unread 08-25-2012, 06:11 PM   #1
wilgeno
Bug-Out!

2013 JK Wrangler 

Wj Front end noise, axel Seal, CV Joint

I'm rather new to Jeeps. Questions, can a leaking axle seal make a CV Joint go bad? (I'm guessing that is a CV joint int he photos.) Recently I started hearing a grinding sound from the front right of my WJ. I looked around the front and noticed what appears to be my front right axle seal is leaking? (See Photos) Is that correct? I checked for a bad wheel bearing. I jacked up the right front and tried checked for any top/bottom movement or wobble. It felt solid. I do not know how to check for other failed components.

I typically do most of my own mechanical work on my motorcycle. I need some instruction on how to do the work on my Jeep.

I need to know how to determine what exactly is wrong.
Then how to fix.

I typically don't like paying dealers. I do have a garage and tools. It's just been a long time since I've worked on anything but a motorcycle and I've never done CV joints or these newer wheel bearing hub assemblies.

Thank you for any help.

img_0336.jpg   img_0339.jpg   img_0340.jpg  
wilgeno is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-25-2012, 06:23 PM   #2
billzcat1
Chicken in a Turkey Suit
2003 WJ 

Yup, that's a CV joint, and yes that's an axle seal leak. No, the axle seal leak won't destroy the CV joint, although it will soften the boot and allow more grit to stick to the boot and wear it down. Eventually it will split.