engine diagnostic codes - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-18-2013, 01:26 PM Thread Starter
bambam634
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: greenfield
Posts: 79
engine diagnostic codes

I just bought the jeep 1 month ago and no engine light was on had it for maybe a week and im getting codes
p0132
p0141
p0161
all seem to be with the o2 sensors however the owner claims he replaced them 3 months ago I can see 2 and they both seem to be clean and shiny like new should there be more then 2 o2 sensors

bambam634 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-18-2013, 01:38 PM
ChrisHager
Administrator
 
ChrisHager's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Springfield
Posts: 8,744
Garage
It depends. Federal Emissions use 2 while California Emissions use 4. It could be that the PO used 'cheap' sensors. WJs are very picky with sensors. You're going to want Mopar O2 sensors. Take a look through this thread then contact Kolak here on JeepForum.

~Chris
His: 2004 WJ - OME HD 'Kolak' Lift -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

His: 1979 J-10 - 3" on 33s -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

His: 2009 Expedition
His: 1978 F250 Custom -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Hers: 2000 TJ
Hers: 2010 Jetta


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt
"You can't recycle tartar sauce."
ChrisHager is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-18-2013, 03:16 PM
MeanGreenZJ
Web Wheeler
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mean Street in a desperate part of town
Posts: 1,710
The fact the owner claims he replaced them 3 months ago could be the problem itself. It can be as simple as using Bosch O2 sensors.
MeanGreenZJ is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 09-18-2013, 04:47 PM
nickblack
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: bridgewater
Posts: 739
Are you suggesting he use Bosch sensors or did you mean the explanation of his potential failure is because the PO used Bosch O2 sensors? You're statement was a little ambiguous. Any who, use Mopar O2 sensors only.
nickblack is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-18-2013, 05:26 PM
MeanGreenZJ
Web Wheeler
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Mean Street in a desperate part of town
Posts: 1,710
Avoid at all cost. Bosch O2 sensors don't work well on Chrysler products.
MeanGreenZJ is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-18-2013, 05:42 PM
nickblack
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: bridgewater
Posts: 739
Agreed!
nickblack is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-19-2013, 11:01 AM Thread Starter
bambam634
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: greenfield
Posts: 79
sounds good i will save up some money and purchase Mopar thanks
bambam634 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome