engine cuts out while driving, - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > engine cuts out while driving,

Premium LED Lighting by VISION X, Proudly sold at ROCKRIDGZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4wSPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!

Reply
Unread 07-15-2011, 12:37 PM   #1
NELLY246
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: STOURBRIDGE, UK
Posts: 16
engine cuts out while driving,

help please, ive only had this cherokee 2months , at first it didnt cut out, then it got worse , this week it has cut out on me and wont start, unless u leave it for a few hours, up till now it will start , but as soon as it gets upto temp it happens again, and its pot luck if it starts.when it cuts out its like somone has switched the engine off, all the das board lights go out and of course loss of powered steering and brakes, not good with caravan on back. dont think its anything to do,with the fuel as it happens on petrol or gas, just checked the rail and there is petrol there, so it seems to be getting through. ANYBODY HELP PLEASE.

forgot to mention its 4ltr 1999 model, newer shape

NELLY246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-2011, 01:23 PM   #2
wsar10
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: State College, PA, PA
Posts: 2,112
wrong forum, if its an XJ.....
but none the less, possibly a crank position sensor ??
__________________
QUOTE=billzcat1;wsar10 is right on point on this oil thread - as usual. Anyone reading this would be well-served taking his advice.


-03 WJ laredo 4.0 120k a few minor mods
-93 XJ 5spd, 3" zone lift
wsar10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-2011, 01:27 PM   #3
WJguyinKC
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Leavenworth, Kansas
Posts: 73
^Agreed. But do this process to check for what code it is throwing (not sure, but I think this works for XJ's as well):

Turn the ignition key until the digital odometer displays, repeat three times in succession and then back to "On" (On/Off, On/Off, On/Off, On). At the fourth "On" the odometer will be replaced with codes. If no codes are present then "Done" will appear.

Once you get the code, post it here
WJguyinKC is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-2011, 03:16 PM   #4
NELLY246
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: STOURBRIDGE, UK
Posts: 16
thanks for getting back to me, first of all i think it is a wj, reg it wrong on site , will change,
done what u said , the following codes came up,

P0320
P0171
P0138
P0131
DONE.

i hpoe this means something to u and its not too expensive, but of course it always is
NELLY246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-2011, 03:37 PM   #5
WJguyinKC
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Leavenworth, Kansas
Posts: 73
Ok. P0320 is the crankshaft positioning sensor. That is what's causing your problem. The sensor goes in at the top of the bell housing of the tranny. Nearly impossible to get to. But if you support the transmission crossmember with a jack, undo the bolts, and then lower the tranny a couple of inches, it becomes an easy job.

Google your other codes along with terms like Grand Cherokee or 'WJ' to find out what they may be.

A great site for us WJ owners is www.wjjeeps.com

Lots of great info.
WJguyinKC is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-2011, 03:50 PM   #6
NELLY246
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: STOURBRIDGE, UK
Posts: 16
im no mechanic, this sounds too complicated for me mortal, being as i dont know what the tranny is etc, looks like being a garage job , but thanks for the info
NELLY246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-2011, 04:19 PM   #7
wildeman_13
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Redwood City, CA
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by WJguyinKC View Post
Ok. P0320 is the crankshaft positioning sensor. That is what's causing your problem. The sensor goes in at the top of the bell housing of the tranny. Nearly impossible to get to. But if you support the transmission crossmember with a jack, undo the bolts, and then lower the tranny a couple of inches, it becomes an easy job.

Google your other codes along with terms like Grand Cherokee or 'WJ' to find out what they may be.

A great site for us WJ owners is www.wjjeeps.com

Lots of great info.
I just got the news from the repair shop on mine and this was the issue. I had the same trouble as you along with it only letting me start it in neutral for the past few weeks. Gonna cost me $320 parts and labor.
wildeman_13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-16-2011, 04:55 AM   #8
NELLY246
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: STOURBRIDGE, UK
Posts: 16
Thats not bad , but i live in great britain, so i bet it will be double that, too expensive to ship it to the states,may consider doing it my self, we will see
NELLY246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-16-2011, 05:58 AM   #9
4Tom
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 2,460
You maybe on right forum
If yours looks like the 1999 to 2004 models. Then it's a wj. Sometimes in England they call them wg.

Sent from my iPhone using JeepForum
__________________
WJ 2001 3.1TD
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/2001-wj-3-1td-1252959/

Tom
4Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-16-2011, 06:02 AM   #10
4Tom
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dublin, Ireland
Posts: 2,460
When pricing jeep parts in uk do a quick check with US for comparison
I often find it cheaper to have shipped from states.

Sent from my iPhone using JeepForum
__________________
WJ 2001 3.1TD
http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/2001-wj-3-1td-1252959/

Tom
4Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-16-2011, 10:33 AM   #11
wsar10
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: State College, PA, PA
Posts: 2,112
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildeman_13 View Post
I just got the news from the repair shop on mine and this was the issue. I had the same trouble as you along with it only letting me start it in neutral for the past few weeks. Gonna cost me $320 parts and labor.
are you freaking kidding me, You could have drove to my mechanic here in PA and had him do the job and drove all the way back to Cali and probably saved 100 bucks

I just went through this last month, 50 bucks for the part 40 bucks for an hours labor to put it on.

Jeep not stalling at red lights......priceless !
__________________
QUOTE=billzcat1;wsar10 is right on point on this oil thread - as usual. Anyone reading this would be well-served taking his advice.


-03 WJ laredo 4.0 120k a few minor mods
-93 XJ 5spd, 3" zone lift
wsar10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-16-2011, 10:50 AM   #12
NELLY246
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: STOURBRIDGE, UK
Posts: 16
Just seen a video on u tube, looks easy, going to have a go this week.
NELLY246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-16-2011, 07:27 PM   #13
WJguyinKC
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Leavenworth, Kansas
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by NELLY246
Just seen a video on u tube, looks easy, going to have a go this week.
Ya, I think I found that video when I did mine, but it's for the generation of Grand Cherokees before ours (ZJ). The apace it shows you can slide your arm through doesn't work on ours.

If u get into it and have troubles let me know. I can take pics of what u need to and walk u thru it.
WJguyinKC is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2011, 07:59 AM   #14
NELLY246
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: STOURBRIDGE, UK
Posts: 16
Thanks for that, ive got to wait for the part , so it will be later on in the week, the u tube vid i saw, they only removed a bracket which gave access to the fixing bolt to cps, will let u now how i get on thanks
NELLY246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-18-2011, 07:39 AM   #15
NELLY246
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: STOURBRIDGE, UK
Posts: 16
i think you are wright about the u tube vid, its on a 1995 model, if you could point me in the wright direction on how to find and replace the cps on our model it would be appreciated, other wise its back to the first idea , take it to garage
NELLY246 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.