Dirty power going to my amp? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Dirty power going to my amp?

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitTHE NEW! VANCO DUAL MODE 15/16″ Big Brake Kit w/BlaFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great value

Reply
Unread 09-03-2013, 11:41 AM   #1
WJ_allday04
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dunkirk, NY
Posts: 223
Dirty power going to my amp?

so I upgrade my sound system about 2 yrs ago, a cheap boss headunit then subs and I never had a problem. so 2 months aho I decided to overhaul the setup and install better components. I install a mtx amp with my cheap headunit and syill no problems. I then installed a new kenwood k255u headunit and the sound improved x100 and I didn't have any problems until last month. when ever any lights are turned on inside the wj, I hear a sound according to the light. turn on the dome lights, a little bump in the subs. turn off, same thing. when I close the door when the jeep is on, it sounds like a time wrap from a cartoon as the lights dim. the ground for the amp is perfect, the rca cable is clear of the power wire for the amp and all the connections for the amp are fine, I'm outa ideas so any insight would be greatly appreciated.

__________________
2004 WJ Special Edition 4.0L - Totaled
2004 WJ Laredo 4.7L - 4in lift 31's
WJ_allday04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-03-2013, 12:30 PM   #2
wjidaho
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: boise, id
Posts: 1,984
Mine did the same come to find out it was my ground on the deck it came lose from the wire harness when I did the deck swap, start their then you RCAs and ground for your amp
__________________
[SIZE="4"][url=http://www.exiledoffroad.com]EXILED OFFROAD[/url][/SIZE]

My build thread
[url]http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/wjidahos-expedition-build-1904282/[/url]
wjidaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-03-2013, 02:48 PM   #3
thechainrule
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 68
The ground that is in that stock wiring harness is garbage, run a separate ground from the back of the harness on the HU to the chassis.
thechainrule is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-04-2013, 05:50 AM   #4
WJ_allday04
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dunkirk, NY
Posts: 223
that's for the input. I work with a guy that did car stereo installation for 15yrs and he said the same thing, I wanted the wj owner input too haha.
__________________
2004 WJ Special Edition 4.0L - Totaled
2004 WJ Laredo 4.7L - 4in lift 31's
WJ_allday04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-04-2013, 11:25 AM   #5
wjidaho
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: boise, id
Posts: 1,984
Yeah these wjs are ground sensitive rigs, when ever I have any problems with it I always check and recheck my grounds then move from their, my ground on my deck even messed with my Cruz control.
__________________
[SIZE="4"][url=http://www.exiledoffroad.com]EXILED OFFROAD[/url][/SIZE]

My build thread
[url]http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f22/wjidahos-expedition-build-1904282/[/url]
wjidaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-08-2013, 06:23 PM   #6
WJ_allday04
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dunkirk, NY
Posts: 223
I tried moving the ground and it help a lot but the sound is still there just 70 percent quieter
__________________
2004 WJ Special Edition 4.0L - Totaled
2004 WJ Laredo 4.7L - 4in lift 31's
WJ_allday04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-08-2013, 07:59 PM   #7
HeavyArms
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cadillac, Michigan
Posts: 1,942
Have you added any grounds under the hood? I had the same problem with mine untill i upgraded a few grounds to 4 amd 2 gauge.

Also im not sure how other people feel about this one but i believe in also running a independent ground. I have 4 gauge power and a small 8 gauge ground for my sax-1200.
__________________
Wiggle wiggle wiggle
HeavyArms is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-08-2013, 09:06 PM   #8
WJ_allday04
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Dunkirk, NY
Posts: 223
no i haven't added any. I did rewire my wire harness for my head unit and that helped a little too. I'm really stumped at this point . Like i said in the 1st post, this started a month after i installed my new head unit. I already found that my old ipod cable i was using was back feeding and immediately replaced that. This may be a dumb question but could a pinch in the power wire for the amp cause this issue???
__________________
2004 WJ Special Edition 4.0L - Totaled
2004 WJ Laredo 4.7L - 4in lift 31's
WJ_allday04 is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.