post #16 of Old 05-07-2010, 03:45 PM Thread Starter
jimbo141
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: poconos pa
Posts: 49
Thank you... I will trace wires backwards from fuse. We just had it towed home today ..... AGAIN !

jimbo141 is offline  
post #17 of Old 05-07-2010, 03:51 PM
MiCrOz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 215
I'd pick up a multimeter for cheap from radioshack to help look for the fault, makes things alot easier

Goodluck
MiCrOz is offline  
post #18 of Old 05-08-2010, 11:46 AM Thread Starter
jimbo141
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: poconos pa
Posts: 49
I think i found the problem. I had a remote starter installed and they soldered a wire to one of the fuel injector wires. I totally disconnected the remote unit installed new fuses and it started. I am gonna run it for a few days,hopefully this was my problem.
jimbo141 is offline  
post #19 of Old 05-08-2010, 04:32 PM
myjeeplovesmud
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Madison
Posts: 3,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by zvanit03ru View Post
Crankshaft position sensor? A common fail point, frequently without warning. Been there; done that..
happened to me, wasn't fun.

2004 WJ Limited 4.7 H.O
K&N FIPK - Magnaflow Exhaust
17" XD Series Spy Rims- Custom Painted
ZONE 4" Lift With 32" Duratracs
Hella Lighting - Rola Rack - KOR 3/4 Spacers
IRO Sliders - Rusty's Hooks - Cobra CB

MY BUILD THREAD
BAD TO THE BONE ZONE


November 2010 GCOTM
myjeeplovesmud is offline  
post #20 of Old 05-17-2010, 05:02 AM Thread Starter
jimbo141
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: poconos pa
Posts: 49
Well, it wasn't the remote starter... I disconnected it and for about a week it was fine but now its still blowing fuel injector fuse. Does anybody know if problems with the coil pack would make the fuse blow?
jimbo141 is offline  
post #21 of Old 05-17-2010, 05:08 PM
TroyJollimore
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Halifax, NS, Canada
Posts: 3
That would have been the obvious culprit... The coilpack shouldn't come anywhere close to interfacing with the fuel injector electronics. Much too high a voltage involved... Perhaps you jostled something when you first disconnected the remote starter that has now fallen back into (out of?) place?
TroyJollimore is offline  
post #22 of Old 05-18-2010, 06:24 AM Thread Starter
jimbo141
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: poconos pa
Posts: 49
Could there be a short in the ECM/PCM that can be tripping the fuel injector fuse? Whats really weird about it is after pushing it home (again) i put 2 new fuses and it blew both of them then on the third fuse it started right up and has been running for 2 days now. There is no reasoning behind this because its blowing fuses whenever it wants to.
jimbo141 is offline  
post #23 of Old 05-22-2010, 07:08 AM Thread Starter
jimbo141
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: poconos pa
Posts: 49
What i did so far is change coil pack,cam position sensor,crank position sensor,new spark plugs and put a new ground to the motor. Hopefully one of these things will fix the problem. Its my wifes vehicle and i can't afford for it to keep breaking down. lol
jimbo141 is offline  
post #24 of Old 05-24-2010, 04:59 AM Thread Starter
jimbo141
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: poconos pa
Posts: 49
Does anybody know if i was supposed to remove the little felt piece off the end of the crank position sensor? The reason i ask is because its been running good for a few days and all of a sudden it threw a P1391 code today. (Intermittent loss of CMP or CKP signal).
jimbo141 is offline  
post #25 of Old 05-24-2010, 02:56 PM
classicmetalman
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 457
Felt tip only there for proper spacing.If you used OEM(dealership)sensor, shouldn't matter. My OEM sensor came with round bolthole and not adjustable. Aftermarket sensors I noticed have oblong holes, where you would need it for proper spacing.

Robert
93 Laredo 4.0
96 Limited 4.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by murphydajeep View Post
I say you should still hit something just to let it know you mean business, or shake a hammer at it in a menacing fashion
classicmetalman is offline  
post #26 of Old 05-24-2010, 03:48 PM Thread Starter
jimbo141
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: poconos pa
Posts: 49
Ok thanks... So if i installed it all the way in it spaces itself ... b/c i had the oblong slots for bolt? What the h*** triggered the p1391 code now? The sensor that i took out had a tiny piece of the felt left on it. It looked like it pulled or ripped off.
jimbo141 is offline  
post #27 of Old 05-24-2010, 07:17 PM
classicmetalman
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 457
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbo141 View Post
So if i installed it all the way in it spaces itself ... b/c i had the oblong slots for bolt?
Hate to say it, but inserting it without the spacer AND the oblong bolthole might of damaged it. Spacer needed more with oblong bolthole, it sets the proper depth of sensor. Spacer is designed to come off when the engine started for 1st time after install.

Robert
93 Laredo 4.0
96 Limited 4.0

Quote:
Originally Posted by murphydajeep View Post
I say you should still hit something just to let it know you mean business, or shake a hammer at it in a menacing fashion
classicmetalman is offline  
post #28 of Old 05-25-2010, 07:23 AM Thread Starter
jimbo141
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: poconos pa
Posts: 49
Ok thanks. I left the spacer on and pushed it all the way in when i installed it and then tightened it up. Maybe the spacer came off and interupted the circuit for a second or two. I will clear the code (P1391) and run it for a few days to see what happens.
jimbo141 is offline  
post #29 of Old 05-09-2011, 08:20 PM
ShelbyVNT
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Newburgh
Posts: 55
Crank or Cam position sensor and both will throw a code. My old intrepid did the Cam sensor on me It ran PERFECT and we parked it for the night, it would not and I mean WOULD NOT start the next day. So for sure run the scanner on it it will almost certainly give a code for whatever happened but I'd say it's probably a sensor.

****EDIT****** HA HA OOOPS Clearly this one is pretty much solved.. way to go me..
ShelbyVNT is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Jeep Forums Replies Last Post
everything just died xjhavens ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 4 10-14-2009 01:14 AM
99 Grand Cherokee Died today... Help twmart ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 8 06-10-2009 01:12 PM
it just died????? rustycherokee18 ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 7 02-04-2007 06:36 AM
Radio Died today (and pwr ant. went down) cmckeon ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 7 07-26-2006 12:24 PM
zj died! papashango ZJ Grand Cherokee Forum 21 01-07-2005 04:18 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome