Coolant flush - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Coolant flush

Offset Tie Rod Kit From RuffStuff!The Original 3/8" Ruffstuff Diff Cover!Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Unread 10-05-2013, 06:32 PM   #1
bigred1821
2004 WJ 

Wj Coolant flush

Hey guys. I would like to do a coolant flush on my 04 GC 4.0 and I just want to verify the procedure as I have never done it before. First, open the petcock at bottom of radiator and let it drain out. Then to flush it, fill radiator and reservoir with distilled water and run the engine until the fan kicks on, circulating the water through. Then, I open the petcock again and drain water out and fill with proper coolant/water mix. Then run it, shut off, let cool, top off, etc. Does all this sound accurate? Any tips or help will be much appreciated. Thanks.

bigred1821 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-05-2013, 06:48 PM   #2
MuddyWJ
2004 WJ 

Take out thermostat, drain radiator, fill radiator with distilled water, then start vehicle with heater on for 2 minutes. Repeat 3 times for a good flush. Pull the overflow tube from radiator side and let it hang. Gravity will suck the reservoir dry. Mix with proper coolant and replace tstat.
MuddyWJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-05-2013, 06:57 PM   #3
bigred1821
2004 WJ 

"Pull the overflow tube from radiator side and let it hang. Gravity will suck the reservoir dry."

Is that the hose from the reservoir that runs along the top of the radiator and into where the radiator cap is?
Unread 10-05-2013, 07:26 PM   #4
bigred1821
2004 WJ