Coil Springs? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Coil Springs?

Rockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4wG2 Disc Brake Conversion Kit for Jeep Wrangler YJ TJ LJ Ch

Unread 02-03-2014, 10:03 PM   #1
mamma_jm

Coil Springs?

I'm new to this and not very car savvy so bear with me please!

I just bought a used 2003 Grand Cherokee. I work in an office park with lots of speed bumps and everyday when I would drive over them, there would be this somewhat wretched sound coming from the front left wheel well. Never thought anything of it because it was only when I went over speed bumps.

Driving down the highway the other night, hit a pothole and now something is broken. Car pulls a little to the right and whenever making a sharp turn or going over a bump it makes an even worse sound, like a scraping or crunching. Not sure how else to describe it. I've been told it could be a few different things, snapped coil spring, shock absorber mounts or a blown strut. My husband and his friends are pretty good with cars in general so can someone tell me if this would be an easy fix or would I be better off going to a mechanic?

mamma_jm is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-04-2014, 12:10 AM   #2
js12278
1999 WJ 

I am sure once they get under the WJ they should find the issue and should be able to fix it.
js12278 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 02-04-2014, 10:41 AM   #3
ChrisHager
Web Wheeler

2004 WJ