buying a 2000 WJ that doesn't start?? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > buying a 2000 WJ that doesn't start??

Rough Country Deals at JeepHut.comShocktober is here! Get new shocks for your Jeep!!!!KOR Labor Week Sale and Giveaway

Unread 06-14-2013, 04:26 PM   #1
nodoze
1996 ZJ 

Question buying a 2000 WJ that doesn't start??

Hi guys, newbie here

I posted in the Jeep Buyers section but haven't received a reply yet so I'm trying here.

I'm looking at a 2000 Grand Cherokee Limited with the 4.7 and 115,000 miles on it. I will be inspecting the vehicle this weekend and would like to get some information before making an offer on it. I've been reading like mad on the forum here but have a few questions.

The buyer tells me that there's an ASD code and the Jeep doesn't start.

He has replaced:
fuel filter
crank sensor
cam sensor
PCM

I'm not sure if the sensors were Mopar parts or auto store parts.

He says that after the PCM was replaced the car ran for a little while but does not start again.

He also states that there's an ASD code and he pulled the relay and it appears the 87A socket in the fuse panel was missing the connector. I'm not sure what this means.

If the car ran briefly after the PCM was replaced, that would lead me to believe that the wiring to the PCM needs some work? Maybe there's a bad ground or a short somewhere? Or maybe the crank shaft position sensor was an auto store part and it has failed already?

I've been doing a lot of research on the forum here, and I'm a little confused. Can a transmission cause the car to not start and give ASD codes?