Brake booster replacement - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Brake booster replacement

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsSave at JeepHut on Smittybilt Soft tops

Unread 02-09-2013, 06:22 AM   #1
sbshealy
2000 WJ 

Brake booster replacement

2000 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited 2WD 4.7L

I got enough pieces-part info from other threads that I replaced my brake booster myself (I'm no mechanic). So I thought I'd try to consolidate what I did to help out the next guy...

Symptom: hissing noise from brake pedal near firewall when brakes released. Brakes seemed to work fine otherwise.

Purchased: brake booster from Autozone. About $125 after core turn-in.

I decided to try it myself without removing the master cylinder. The master cylinder is connected to the brake lines with 2 flexible/braided lines that allows for some movement. I can say that things were very tight and I was a little nervous about something breaking, but things turned out okay.

See picture for reference....

Make room: remove every connection with orange arrows... 3 connections on the front of the ?vapor canister? plus whatever it is that is kinda sitting on the front. 1 wiring plug that is removed by pulling up on the tab while the plugs slides backwards. 1 brake fluid sensor. 1 vacuum hose on the booster itself.

In red, remove the vapor canister with brackets from the side using a 10mm wrench on 4 fairly short screws.

In red, loosen the master cylinder using a 13mm socket on the 2 bolts. Let it stay there loose for now.