Big problem-this is for experienced auto techs - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Big problem-this is for experienced auto techs

Savvy/Currie Aluminum Control ArmsRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4w

Unread 11-03-2013, 04:07 PM   #1
BrugsBunny
2001 WJ 

So my buddy from work (I'm a mechanic) just got done with replacing a cat on a 2004 WJ, I6 4.0, and now it's having some SERIOUS issues. It had come in with a misfire originally, as well as needing a new cat and O2 sensors in both banks, and now that those have been replaced, the misfire is even worse, there is white smoke pouring out of the tail pipe, and the cat is glowing red within a very short period of time after cranking up. So he needs to know if it's a head, or something else, or if anybody here has any clue of what it might be.

BrugsBunny is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-03-2013, 04:19 PM   #2
MuddyWJ
2004 WJ 

The only way the cat turns red is if there is a clog in the system. If you have a infrared temp sensor let the vehicle warm up then hit the laser before cat and after. Shouldn't be a huge temp difference.
MuddyWJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 11-03-2013, 04:32 PM   #3
nickblack
1999 WJ 

I had multiple misfires after putting in an aftermarket cat. I was running those E3 spark plugs at the time, which were a mistake in the first place. It turned out to be the plugs and after I put in the OEM plugs, everything was fine. I don't know if it was a coincidence, but the plugs gave me no trouble when I had the OEM cat in. What kind of plugs are you running?