Another losing water thread. - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Another losing water thread.

Smittybilt Products at Oconee Off-Road!Alloy USA Still AvailableCurrie Currectlync Steering Upgrade Kits and Currie Anti-R

Unread 06-08-2013, 08:02 AM   #1
rustysjeep

Another losing water thread.

2000 Jeep grand Cherokee Laredo 6 cylinder. I have been losing water for the last 3 years. Adding water no and then. Never any water in the oil or on the oil fill cap. It seems to have gotten worse lately.
What could be the problem and how hard is it to change the head and or gasket.

rustysjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-08-2013, 08:14 AM   #2
Terminal
2000 WJ 

Yeah, those symptoms happened to me a few years ago, too. It turned out it was the radiator slowly leaking steam under pressure, but wasn't apparent for quite some time until it separated enough to be seen squirting raw fluid everywhere and now an obvious steam cloud . There was a split in the seal where they crimp the plastic ends to the aluminum part of the radiator from the factory. Ultimately a new radiator fixed that problem for me, but as always, everybody's mileage will vary.

It didn't take me that long to replace, about a couple of hours and it wasn't that bad. You could to it within an hour if you hustle.
Terminal is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-08-2013, 06:41 PM   #3
R0CKKR4WL3R
2001 WJ