Altenator running low - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Altenator running low

FS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitFS: Wranger BRIGHT License Plate LED! Just $3! Great valueRough Country Lift Kits and Parts!

Unread 11-15-2013, 03:34 PM   #1
ladyjen
2003 WJ 

Wj Altenator running low

Hi,
We own a Jeep GC 2003 in South Africa which we bought for overlanding and have just completed a trip to Botswana. When I had the second battery we added to run the fridge checked I was told that the altenator was running a bit low. What does this mean, is it getting worn out?

ladyjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-15-2013, 04:50 PM   #2
99_wj_QD
1999 WJ 

I'm an auto tech in America but I'm not too sure what they mean by "running low". If you have added any electrical accessories to your vehicle that are going to draw a considerable amount of power, more than a few extra light bulbs, that will put a greater demand on your alternator. The stock alternator may not be able to handle the load of your fridge and maybe that is what the person meant by running low. My advice would be just to buy yourself a better aftermarket alternator that has the capability of producing more power to compensate for the added accessories.
99_wj_QD is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-15-2013, 05:13 PM   #3
ladyjen
2003 WJ 

Quote:
Originally Posted by 99_wj_QD View Post