Aircon Woes.. - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > Aircon Woes..

Rubicon express discounts from oconee off-roadRing & Pinion's, Lockers, 4340 Axles, Install Kits, BaSPARTAN LOCKERS are on sale BIG TIME at ROCKRIDGE 4WD!

Reply
Unread 06-14-2013, 10:27 AM   #1
MadderThanMax
Registered User
2001  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,654
Wj Aircon Woes..

Vehicle: 2001 2.7CRD WJ Limited (Down Adam!!)

So we have a little bit of a heat wave up here in sunny Scotland and.. My Aircon don't work..

So I took in and had it recharged and that went well, nice new gas in it etc except the aircon clutch ain't getting a signal to engage! At first we thought because its had a new heater control panel that it would have to be coded to the vehicle -not so according to the stealers its a plug in and play job. I was then told it was a broken wire usually in and around the control panel.. not so, pulled the dash apart to day and tested each wire and all was okay. Next was the AC PCM in the engine bay - swapped that with a reliable one (Works in another car) and nope! No talky.. anyone any ideas.. want my aircon back please ;-)

MadderThanMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-14-2013, 12:46 PM   #2
CarlJH
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 405
There's a pressure switch somewhere try giving it a lite tap to see if the contacts at sticking
CarlJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 11:46 AM   #3
MadderThanMax
Registered User
2001  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,654
Bump anyone??
MadderThanMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 11:54 AM   #4
austin6137
Registered User
1990 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 1,074
Is the system charged, I think if the r134a leaks out the clutch wont engage. But I could be wrong
__________________
90 - xj laredo- 4.5" rough country lift, 6.5" of total lift with drop brackets, zj disc brakes on c8.25, olympic winch bumper, jcr upper and lower quarter armor, IRO hack-n-tap and rock sliders and rear bumper. rugged ridge 8500lb winch. Spartan locker up front. With a jd yellow paint job, 97+ front end and bushwacker cut out flares. 35's
austin6137 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 12:09 PM   #5
alfaitalia
CRD Pilot!
 
alfaitalia's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bognor, West Sussex. England. Great Britain
Posts: 2,924
Check the low pressure switch. It failed on my mates 4.slow....so they do go. If the system thInks the pressure is too low it won't let the compressor engage to protect itself.
__________________
Before you judge a man, walk a mile in his shoes; after that, who cares?! He's a mile away and you've got his shoes!
alfaitalia is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 12:09 PM   #6
MadderThanMax
Registered User
2001  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,654
@ Austin 6137...

"EEEEEEHHHHHH... Wrong Answer"

Says so in First line third paragrapgh....thanks for input though ;-)
MadderThanMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 12:11 PM   #7
MadderThanMax
Registered User
2001  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,654
Hi Dean.

No. It took a full charge and held, which surprised me for an 11year old vehicle..
MadderThanMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 12:11 PM   #8
MadderThanMax
Registered User
2001  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,654
Where is the switch and any photos mate??
MadderThanMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 12:15 PM   #9
alfaitalia
CRD Pilot!
 
alfaitalia's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bognor, West Sussex. England. Great Britain
Posts: 2,924
Really??? Read it three times and still can't see any mention of the low pressure switch......my eyes must be going with my old age! Hope you sort it. Did not know it ever got above freezing up there any way!
__________________
Before you judge a man, walk a mile in his shoes; after that, who cares?! He's a mile away and you've got his shoes!
alfaitalia is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 02:13 PM   #10
MadderThanMax
Registered User
2001  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,654
My bad D, misread your postin' I thought you meant that it had low pressure and didn't take much gassin'. Where is the switch??

Weather humour?? I'll send you a bucket of rain and a handful of midges for your inevitable drought you always have..
.
MadderThanMax is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 03:43 PM   #11
Mike2909
Registered User
1998 TJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cupar, Scotland
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by MadderThanMax View Post
My bad D, misread your postin' I thought you meant that it had low pressure and didn't take much gassin'. Where is the switch??

Weather humour?? I'll send you a bucket of rain and a handful of midges for your inevitable drought you always have..
.
Always thought Scottish aircon was opening a window.
Mike2909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 04:12 PM   #12
alfaitalia
CRD Pilot!
 
alfaitalia's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bognor, West Sussex. England. Great Britain
Posts: 2,924
Cant find a pic of it in situ but the part no is 5073 617aa...and it looks like this:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Dodge-A-C-...#ht_1714wt_721

Will try and get pic tomorrow....if I can get away from the family for five minutes (Fathers Day and Im a son and a father!)
__________________
Before you judge a man, walk a mile in his shoes; after that, who cares?! He's a mile away and you've got his shoes!
alfaitalia is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-15-2013, 04:37 PM   #13
js12278
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Springfield, Illinois
Posts: 451
That is the high pressure cut out switch., Mounted on the accumulator alongside the battery in a 4.0 engine bay.
http://www.rockauto.com/catalog/more...312&cc=1431779
js12278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-16-2013, 02:28 AM   #14
alfaitalia
CRD Pilot!
 
alfaitalia's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bognor, West Sussex. England. Great Britain
Posts: 2,924
Yes but according to my parts list, high and low pressure switch are one and the same........ more research I think.
__________________
Before you judge a man, walk a mile in his shoes; after that, who cares?! He's a mile away and you've got his shoes!
alfaitalia is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-16-2013, 03:56 AM   #15
MadderThanMax
Registered User
2001  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Posts: 1,654
Thanks Guys..
MadderThanMax is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.