4.0L suddenly very loud - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 4.0L suddenly very loud

Engo LED Flush Mount Lights *PAIR* Flood or Spot 1,600 LumYukon Ultimate 35 axle kit for c/clip axles with Yukon ZipRockridge 4WD IS Taking Zone Offroad Suspension Lift Kits

Unread 05-17-2011, 07:59 AM   #1
chugghins
2002 WJ 

4.0L suddenly very loud

I haven't had my Jeep for very long so I'm new to this world, but I've noticed the engine suddenly got very loud. It's a stock 2002 Grand Cherokee Limited w/a 4.0L inline six w/175,000 miles on it. No codes are being thrown. I'm wondering if it has something to do with the fan. I noticed while driving on the highway on a 70-degree day that there was a strange "hiss" (almost like an electrical sound...kinda' sounded like when you barely open a pressurized bottle of soda) and then it suddenly got really loud - even at cruising speeds I could notice the difference in sound. It's not overheating - staying consistently to the left of 210-degrees. I got home and put it in the garage. The next day, I went out to turn it on to see if it still sounded loud and I noticed the fan was on - like "on" hard enough to create wind in the engine bay. I thought that was odd too since it had sat for over 12 hours in a 60-degree garage. It's not idling rough, no knocks, pings, etc. Just significant HP loss and a loud roar @ W.O.T. Thanks in advance!

chugghins is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 05-17-2011, 10:44 AM   #2
the88thpianoman
2003 WJ 

I'm assuming it's a mechanical fan? If so, sounds like the fan clutch is bad and locked up.