2002 grand cherokee 4.0 cam/cam sensor adjustment cause problems? - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 05-02-2013, 09:40 AM Thread Starter
02grandy
Senior Member
 
02grandy's Avatar
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: roseland
Posts: 658
Wj 2002 grand cherokee 4.0 cam/cam sensor adjustment cause problems?

so i had a problem where my IAC motor was bad but im still having a problem with my idle being high after starting it . so i have to bring it back to those retards. the tech had his machine on my jeep and said the cam sensor or cam was " OFF" so he " ADJUSTED" it. would that now have the components related to the cam be hitting in different spots possibly throwing things off from worn in parts making the engine louder?????

02grandy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 05-02-2013, 10:34 AM
ChrisHager
Custom User Title
 
ChrisHager's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Springfield
Posts: 8,267
Garage
Was the 'tech' at a jeep dealer? If not, the only way he could have accurately adjusted the cam sensor was with a DRBIII tool which is extremely expensive.

Adjusting the CPS won't cause anything to 'hit' another part. It adjusts your fuel trim and will make it run horribly/not at all if it's adjusted too far out.

~Chris
His: 2004 WJ - OME HD 'Kolak' Lift - Build Thread
His: 1979 J-10 - 3" on 33s - Build Thread
His: 2009 Expedition
Hers: 2000 TJ
Hers: 2010 Jetta

ChrisHager's 'Grilled' Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt
"You can't recycle tartar sauce."
ChrisHager is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 05-02-2013, 10:33 PM Thread Starter
02grandy
Senior Member
 
02grandy's Avatar
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: roseland
Posts: 658
no it was at the jeep dealer he was fixing my IAC motor and also did that for free yes with the drbIII machine
02grandy is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 05-03-2013, 07:17 AM
ChrisHager
Custom User Title
 
ChrisHager's Avatar
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Springfield
Posts: 8,267
Garage
If he used the DRBIII machine, you should be good. Look into replacing the TPS and cleaning the throttle body while you're at it.

~Chris
His: 2004 WJ - OME HD 'Kolak' Lift - Build Thread
His: 1979 J-10 - 3" on 33s - Build Thread
His: 2009 Expedition
Hers: 2000 TJ
Hers: 2010 Jetta

ChrisHager's 'Grilled' Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt
"You can't recycle tartar sauce."
ChrisHager is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 05-03-2013, 07:45 PM Thread Starter
02grandy
Senior Member
 
02grandy's Avatar
1999 XJ Cherokee 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: roseland
Posts: 658
replace tps 2 years ago. bad already?????
02grandy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome