04 jeep grand cherokee just dies - Page 4 - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 04 jeep grand cherokee just dies

Stainless Steel Door Hinge PinsPoly Door Hinge BushingsFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye Kit

Reply
Unread 09-25-2013, 11:32 PM   #46
nolimitssjca
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 178
Hey Tim,

Thanks for the info. Useful tools indeed.

__________________
1999 WJ 4x4, 1997 ZJ 4x4
1997 Mountaineer 4x4, 1996 Explorer 4x4
1972 Mustang Mach 1 351 Cleveland, 1972 Mustang Coupe 302
1970 Chevy C-20 350, 2002 Kawasaki Vulcan
nolimitssjca is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-01-2013, 03:38 PM   #47
cmberges
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: st george, ut
Posts: 39
Ok so here is an update. First off I would like to just say im sorta a DUMBA$$. got the new computer and was like hey, that don't look like the one I have. Turns out I took out the "TCM" instead of the "PCM". Now I know the difference.

So put all the new parts in and hooked the battery up and she purred like a kitten, almost....... Only had time to let it run for about half hour and nothing went wrong at all. I renewed my AAA so I have towing before I take any nice long joyrides but I'm hopeful that this did the trick. Now before I said it "ALMOST" purred like a kitten here is what I mean. It started fine, but then started to idle a bit funny. I'm not good at explaining so I made a vid for those that want to look. It revs fromm 1G to about 500 and just keeps doing it. It does it sitting in gear, or in park. Drives just fine but the idle is funny and it never did that before the new computer. As you watch it seems like im pushing the gas but im not doing nothing but filming.

I'll test drive it more and update once more if the problem is truly solved. Next is the blend doors, that will be fun..........LMAO 12 pack and power tools, what could go wrong?

So any suggestions on the idle thing please let me know.

Thanks

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=06eBX...ature=youtu.be
cmberges is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-01-2013, 08:02 PM   #48
cmberges
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: st george, ut
Posts: 39
OK so took a joy ride tonight and no stalls...... YEAAAHHHHHHH
But now the idling is an issue. I was stopped and it was idling fine then ramped up to 2G (almost hit the person in front of me), pushed the brakes as hard as I could and then it just went back to normal. Came home and it idled weird off and on but never died. The 2G idle thing scared the poop outta me though.

Hmmmmmmm
cmberges is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-01-2013, 09:32 PM   #49
new2site
Registered User
2002 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Orange county, CA
Posts: 770
Maybe you damaged or knocked off a vacuum line installing your PCM or reinstalling your TCM.....do a visual check and then if necessary go buy a cigar and do a vacuum smoke test.

Or pick up a can of starting fluid and spray around vacuum lines etc...and see if your idle jumps up at a certain spot(leak).

new2site is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-01-2013, 10:47 PM   #50
cmberges
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: st george, ut
Posts: 39
yea I took a lot of stuff off so I'll look around tomorrow. So it sounds like a vacuum leak and not the new PCM? And I have starting fluid, where would I start spraying? I assume the vac lines are under the thing that says "4.7 L blaa blaa" around were I put the new idle sensor thing, right?

OK I need to go to bed.

Thanks again guys, I'm going to kick this problems a$$...... ;-)
cmberges is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-02-2013, 02:01 PM   #51
rdkendrick
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 3,023
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmberges View Post
yea I took a lot of stuff off so I'll look around tomorrow. So it sounds like a vacuum leak and not the new PCM? And I have starting fluid, where would I start spraying? I assume the vac lines are under the thing that says "4.7 L blaa blaa" around were I put the new idle sensor thing, right? OK I need to go to bed. Thanks again guys, I'm going to kick this problems a$$...... ;-)
Yeah, they connect to your throttle body, and one or two run all the way around and under your battery to the T-connector and connect to the vacuum thingy behind the passenger side headlight.

Sent from my iPad using my fingers
rdkendrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-02-2013, 03:50 PM   #52
cmberges
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: st george, ut
Posts: 39
OK so I sprayed almost every hose and nothing happened. Also no codes thrown. I have been driving around town all day in it and it still idles funny but drives great, no more stalling. Looks like the computer did the trick. Maybe it just needs to relearn something????? Took it down to the 4x4 shop and they said drive it till next week and see if it gets better because with a code its gonna cost me.....lol

I'll keep this updated but not sure what to do know except put some more miles on it. Got the new stereo in so I don't mind crusin around the town...:-)
cmberges is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-02-2013, 07:07 PM   #53
StormChaserTim
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Wichita, KS
Posts: 113
You cleaned the IAC valve up, right? Can't recall...

Tim
__________________
2000 Grand Cherokee Limited 2wd, 4.7L V8 - It's blazing fast, blue, and the heap of Jeep.
2002 Dodge Ram Quad Cab 2wd, 4.7L V8 - Hailstoned, windshield cracked, storm chasin' truck. But dependable.
StormChaserTim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-03-2013, 08:28 AM   #54
cmberges
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: st george, ut
Posts: 39
No I put a new one in. New tcm (if that is the part above the starter), IAC, map, and pcm. It's running good except the idle issue. Yesterday after driving on the interstate (and it was hot out) I exited and came to a light, it idled really rough like it wanted to die (so I put it in "N" so it didn't) and then came home. When I got home I sat in the garage in gear and it idled fine so I'm totally confused at this point.
cmberges is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-04-2013, 03:54 PM   #55
cmberges
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: st george, ut
Posts: 39
So here is todays update.......................

I was working on the blend doors yesterday and the only thing I did was unhook the battery a few times and went I went to drive it guess what, no more idle issues. Runs like a top. But I did get some trouble codes (finally) and they are a P1195/1196 but I just replaced the 02 sensors not to long ago. Good thing they are under warranty so Ill just get some new ones but it looks like the jeep might be finally fixed, until the next issue.............LMFAO..............
cmberges is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-04-2013, 05:20 PM   #56
new2site
Registered User
2002 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Orange county, CA
Posts: 770
Good to hear it....Sounds like your replacement PCM needed to be reset....BUT post back in a few days either way with current running status...curious about consistency.
new2site is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-05-2013, 01:31 PM   #57
cmberges
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: st george, ut
Posts: 39
I sure will. The new 02 sensors will be in next week so I'll put them in and keep driving. Ill update again later next week!
cmberges is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-05-2013, 08:44 PM   #58
99WJ01TJ
Registered User
1999 WJ 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Monroe, NY
Posts: 375
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmberges View Post
I sure will. The new 02 sensors will be in next week so I'll put them in and keep driving. Ill update again later next week!
Cmberges.. who did you get your pcm from? My mechanic is being a d-bag and doesn't believe that the one he ordered is bad. I'm just going to order another and get my money back from him.
99WJ01TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-06-2013, 08:30 AM   #59
gold3n_8oy
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: jakarta, Indonesia
Posts: 83
Dear cmberges, can you show me the picture of the Map sensor location ? My jeep a Grand cherokee WJ 4.7 2000. Thanks
gold3n_8oy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-06-2013, 12:41 PM   #60
cmberges
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: st george, ut
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99WJ01TJ View Post
Cmberges.. who did you get your pcm from? My mechanic is being a d-bag and doesn't believe that the one he ordered is bad. I'm just going to order another and get my money back from him.
This is where I got mine and its a lifetime warranty. Good customer service to.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/120911292246...84.m1497.l2649
cmberges is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.