03 CGL 4.7 Cruise Control Not Working - The Lights On But Nobody Home - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WJ Grand Cherokee Forum > 03 CGL 4.7 Cruise Control Not Working - The Lights On But Nobody Home

Flowmaster Overstock: Special Holiday Pricing!!!!RIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!

Reply
Unread 03-02-2013, 06:54 PM   #1
webby88
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 289
03 CGL 4.7 Cruise Control Not Working - The Lights On But Nobody Home

Strange development and forum search did not yield any constructive answers. So here goes:

My 03 GC Limited 4.7 my cruise control stopped working. I turn it on, the dash light comes on, I hit set and the cruise does not engage at all.

To the best of my recollection it worked quite recently (city jeep, not much need for cruise) and this weekend on a 200 mile trip it would not engage, no matter what.

I have not done any diagnostics but from what I have read my (azc) climate control has not been doing anything weird with self switching.

Any ideas what to start checking first? Mind you I am on the road so my capabilities till I get home are severely limited.

__________________
'03 Grand Cherokee Limited 4.7 QD - DD
'00 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.7 QT - Shes Alive!
webby88 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-02-2013, 10:12 PM   #2
jeffthe jerk
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: calgary
Posts: 10
Wj

this happened to me a few times it could be a vac line is off that's what my problem was
jeffthe jerk is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-02-2013, 10:20 PM   #3
highjenks
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 10
Check all vacuum lines first. A faulty or disconnected vacuum reservoir will keep cruise control from working too. Cruise and defrost require vacuum pressure to work. Also be sure to check the fuse isn't blown.
highjenks is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-03-2013, 07:58 AM   #4
james_2k
Registered User
2009 WK 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Aberfoyle, Stirlingshire
Posts: 544
x3.

i had knocked a vac line off when changing my throttle body, it caused the cruise not to engage
james_2k is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-03-2013, 08:23 AM   #5
webby88
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New York, New York
Posts: 289
:

I cant believe I didn't see it, the third hose (closest to the firewall) came off the throttle body and I have no idea how. I have not been under my hood since the last oil change over a month ago.

The hose seems a little too squishy to my taste and maybe that is why it came off. I will consider replacing it or throwing a clamp on it.

Thanks guys for pointing me in the right direction!
__________________
'03 Grand Cherokee Limited 4.7 QD - DD
'00 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4.7 QT - Shes Alive!
webby88 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-03-2013, 09:32 AM   #6
james_2k
Registered User
2009 WK 
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Aberfoyle, Stirlingshire
Posts: 544
nice one
james_2k is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-03-2013, 10:56 AM   #7
jeffthe jerk
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: calgary
Posts: 10
yeah i put a small clamp on mine glad we could help
jeffthe jerk is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-19-2014, 07:57 AM   #8
rayliff
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: fairfield, PA
Posts: 2
Cruise control will not turn on

If you follow the vacuum lines off the intake there is also a switch block that sits on top of the left front wheel well with a green plastic cap (looks like a stem cap) make sure that's finger tight or you have a vacuum leak and cruise will not turn on.
rayliff is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-19-2014, 02:09 PM   #9
rdkendrick
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 3,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by rayliff View Post
If you follow the vacuum lines off the intake there is also a switch block that sits on top of the left front wheel well with a green plastic cap (looks like a stem cap) make sure that's finger tight or you have a vacuum leak and cruise will not turn on.
If you are talking about the vacuum reservoir, it sits behind the passenger headlight, which would be the right side.

Sent from my iPad using Electrons
rdkendrick is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-26-2014, 10:03 PM   #10
akoutdoors1
Registered User
2000 WJ 
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdkendrick View Post
If you are talking about the vacuum reservoir, it sits behind the passenger headlight, which would be the right side.

Sent from my iPad using Electrons
2 different units. Both of mine are good, but still no cruise.
akoutdoors1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-27-2014, 06:31 PM   #11
rdkendrick
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 3,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by akoutdoors1 View Post
2 different units. Both of mine are good, but still no cruise.
Then my apologies to RAYLIFF. I didn't know about the other unit.

Sent from my iPad using Electrons
rdkendrick is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 06-27-2014, 08:08 PM   #12
asatxj
Registered User
2001 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 956
Brake light switch misadjusted? Push brake pedal down with one hand, pull plunger out with other. It will move about 3/4 inch. Let pedal go and it will self adjust. Worth a try. Worked on mine.
__________________
Jeep Fleet Maintenance Director
'00 WJ, son's Jeep,'01 WJ mine, '04 TJ, brother's Jeep,00 WJ daughter's
Maintain your stuff so you don't have to fix your junk
ASAT= All Season All Terrain
asatxj is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-30-2014, 04:51 PM   #13
Skyfox16
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 20
Is there a cable that runs from the servo to the throttle body? I have two cables, probably the throttle cable and another one that attach to the throttle body and the one cable is really loose. Would this cause the cruise not to work?
Skyfox16 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-30-2014, 05:12 PM   #14
Thomahawk
Registered User
2004 WJ 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Oslo, Norway
Posts: 7,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyfox16
Is there a cable that runs from the servo to the throttle body? I have two cables, probably the throttle cable and another one that attach to the throttle body and the one cable is really loose. Would this cause the cruise not to work?
The other cable goes to the cruise unit, under your headlight, its Controller by vacum, any vacum leak will F it up, most common
__________________
2004 Grand Cherokee Overland 4.7 HO Quadradrive
95 ZJ Limited 5.2 Winter Project
Sold 94 ZJ Laredo 4.0 Winter Beater
R.I.P. 2000 Grand Cherokee Limited, 4.7 V8, Quadradrive, Shale Green Metallic, Agate/Carbon interior, Well modded and highly missed :(

Buildthread [url]http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f197/jeep-norway-2th-buildt-overland-upgrade-1813490/[/url]

MONEY WILL CONTINUE TO BE THROWN INTO THE RIG UNTIL CONDITION AND SATISFACTION IMPROVES!!!
Thomahawk is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-30-2014, 09:09 PM   #15
rdkendrick
Registered User
2003 WJ 
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 3,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by akoutdoors1 View Post
2 different units. Both of mine are good, but still no cruise.
I did not check before, but for kicks, I decided to check what it says about Speed Control, in my FSM. It says NOTHING about any other vacuum canister. It only mentions the vacuum reservoir, under the passenger headlight.

Sent from my iPad using Electrons
image-1286274129.jpg

rdkendrick is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.