WK2 Tire and Wheel Sizes - Page 14 - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK2 Grand Cherokee Forum > WK2 Tire and Wheel Sizes

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineFS: Jeep Fog Light LED Bulbs! Several Brightness Options! Clayton Off Road JK Short Arm Suspension Kits

Reply
Unread 04-10-2013, 09:28 AM   #196
OverlandSummitt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekshishekki View Post
Just to confirm...i have a 2013 overland with oem 20" wheels.

Will a 275/55R20 fit without rubbing anything at all the QL heights?

What about a 275/60R20?
275/55/20 should work. That is a 31.9" tire. I have a 32.1" tire on my QL Hemi. Please see post #185 for details on this size.

I really doubt 275/60/20 will fit as that is a 33" tire.

OverlandSummitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-10-2013, 07:40 PM   #197
illflo
Registered User
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Remington, Virginia
Posts: 50
Help!

I've been through the search function and both wheel and tire threads and have found numerous mentions of speedo inaccuracy after moving to bigger tires. I can't seem to find anybody who has a solid answer to whether or not anybody can recalibrate speedos to accommodate larger tires without using a tuner. Am I missing something obvious or is the only way to recalibrate the speedo to go out and buy a tuner?
__________________
'12 V6 WK2 Laredo X
illflo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-10-2013, 07:51 PM   #198
Jackal01
Moderator
 
Jackal01's Avatar
2011 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas, Texas
Posts: 2,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by illflo View Post
Help!

I've been through the search function and both wheel and tire threads and have found numerous mentions of speedo inaccuracy after moving to bigger tires. I can't seem to find anybody who has a solid answer to whether or not anybody can recalibrate speedos to accommodate larger tires without using a tuner. Am I missing something obvious or is the only way to recalibrate the speedo to go out and buy a tuner?
Dealer can reprogram the computer. I did last year although I have no way to really tell if they did.

Sent from my underground lair.
__________________
2011 Billet JKUS

Jackal01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-11-2013, 07:49 AM   #199
illflo
Registered User
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Remington, Virginia
Posts: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackal01 View Post
Dealer can reprogram the computer. I did last year although I have no way to really tell if they did.

Sent from my underground lair.
Jackal,

Thanks! Wasn't sure if I had missed something. The best way to double check would be to use a dash-mounted GPS. Most will display your speed using the time it takes you to travel a certain distance based on your GPS coordinates, so it's not biased by wheel size. Set your cruise to 60, give the GPS a minute to catch up, and see if it reflects that you're traveling 60 mph. You want to stay at speed as long as possible to insure the GPS gets a good signal and read (They normally update every second or so). It's a quick and easy way to make sure your speedo is accurate. If you don't own a GPS see if you can borrow somebody's. 70 or 80 would be a better speed to use (because speedo inaccuracies will be exaggerated at higher speeds) but some folks don't have roads on which they can drive that fast.
__________________
'12 V6 WK2 Laredo X
illflo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-11-2013, 09:33 AM   #200
kkreit01
Registered User
2011  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 586
If they are 17", no. I've read only 18"+ will fit. Those look like 17s?
kkreit01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-11-2013, 10:17 AM   #201
Jackal01
Moderator
 
Jackal01's Avatar
2011 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas, Texas
Posts: 2,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by illflo View Post
Jackal,

Thanks! Wasn't sure if I had missed something. The best way to double check would be to use a dash-mounted GPS. Most will display your speed using the time it takes you to travel a certain distance based on your GPS coordinates, so it's not biased by wheel size. Set your cruise to 60, give the GPS a minute to catch up, and see if it reflects that you're traveling 60 mph. You want to stay at speed as long as possible to insure the GPS gets a good signal and read (They normally update every second or so). It's a quick and easy way to make sure your speedo is accurate. If you don't own a GPS see if you can borrow somebody's. 70 or 80 would be a better speed to use (because speedo inaccuracies will be exaggerated at higher speeds) but some folks don't have roads on which they can drive that fast.
I did that the day I did it. I even downloaded a couple speedo/GPS apps along with my GPS AND even drove by one of the automated speedo signs by LE on the side of the road. All the readings were 1 or 2 off the Jeep speedo.
__________________
2011 Billet JKUS

Jackal01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-11-2013, 12:25 PM   #202
Alaska-HWY JK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Dawson Creek BC Canada
Posts: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackal01 View Post
Dealer can reprogram the computer. I did last year although I have no way to really tell if they did.

Sent from my underground lair.
This is the first I've read where any dealer can reprogram for differant sized tires on a GC.
Alaska-HWY JK is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-11-2013, 08:05 PM   #203
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 3,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackal01 View Post
Dealer can reprogram the computer. I did last year although I have no way to really tell if they did.

Sent from my underground lair.
That must have bee a recent change to their software. The tire factor menu item used to not even be presented for the WK2, as they wouldn't need to change it anyway (all the OEMs have the same tire diameter regardless of wheel size). Other chrysler vehicles can be programed by picking a tire factor from a menu, but the only factors presented to the tech are those for OEM sizes. Nothing aftermarket. On my 2006 RAM I just got used to adjusting 5%.

Running oversize tires on the WK2 is not an approved Jeep mod or an offered accessory.
__________________
2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6, 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is online now   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-12-2013, 09:37 AM   #204
Jackal01
Moderator
 
Jackal01's Avatar
2011 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas, Texas
Posts: 2,271
Although I do not trust the dealership with much when I asked them to reprogram the computer for my larger tires they said they could and did. Now, post larger tires and before the reprogram my speedo displayed speeds very rapidly ie: traveling 40 mph the EVIC would "flicker" 40-41-39 etc very quickly. After the reprogram the the EVIC/speedo worked as normal. Not sure what was really performed since the invoice only said "customer requested reprogram of computer for larger tires" and charged me $60. I think they did however I cannot know that 100% since I cannot see the computer specs obviously. And this was a year ago I did this.
__________________
2011 Billet JKUS

Jackal01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-12-2013, 11:33 AM   #205
jacko15
Registered User
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pennsylvania's North Shore
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackal01 View Post
Although I do not trust the dealership with much when I asked them to reprogram the computer for my larger tires they said they could and did. Now, post larger tires and before the reprogram my speedo displayed speeds very rapidly ie: traveling 40 mph the EVIC would "flicker" 40-41-39 etc very quickly. After the reprogram the the EVIC/speedo worked as normal. Not sure what was really performed since the invoice only said "customer requested reprogram of computer for larger tires" and charged me $60. I think they did however I cannot know that 100% since I cannot see the computer specs obviously. And this was a year ago I did this.
Did you try checking your speed against a GPS?
__________________
Hers: 2008 Jeep Compass Sport
Mine: 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland V/6 ORA II
Michelin LTX M/S 2's
jacko15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-12-2013, 12:03 PM   #206
Jackal01
Moderator
 
Jackal01's Avatar
2011 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas, Texas
Posts: 2,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacko15 View Post
Did you try checking your speed against a GPS?
yes.

http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f309/...l#post15280893
__________________
2011 Billet JKUS

Jackal01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-12-2013, 03:45 PM   #207
jacko15
Registered User
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pennsylvania's North Shore
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackal01 View Post
Sorry, I missed that.
__________________
Hers: 2008 Jeep Compass Sport
Mine: 2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland V/6 ORA II
Michelin LTX M/S 2's
jacko15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-12-2013, 05:59 PM   #208
Jackal01
Moderator
 
Jackal01's Avatar
2011 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas, Texas
Posts: 2,271
Quote:
Originally Posted by jacko15 View Post

Sorry, I missed that.
No problem dude.

Sent from my underground lair.
__________________
2011 Billet JKUS

Jackal01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-15-2013, 03:39 PM   #209
silve
Registered User
2013 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: fort myers, fl
Posts: 8
Fuel Boost Wheels; which will fit? if any...

Anyone know which, if any of these wheels will fit our wk2's the best? wheel is fuel boost. just have a stock laredo with regular suspension. hope someone can help me out!

http://www.4wheelparts.com/Wheels/Wh...Style_PQ=Boost
silve is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-15-2013, 03:40 PM   #210
silve
Registered User
2013 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: fort myers, fl
Posts: 8
to be more clear, which offset and backspacing combo would fit our wk2's, if any
silve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.