TPMS Flashing Light - Intermittent - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 08-23-2017, 12:10 PM Thread Starter
muzicman82
Registered User
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bear, DE
Posts: 240
TPMS Flashing Light - Intermittent

Hi all,

I have a 2011 Laredo. I've read other threads about the TPMS light flashing for several seconds before turning solid on is an indication of a system error. My question is... Is it possible for me to determine where the problem is without dismounting tires myself? Can OBD tell me anything?

If I take it to a shop to fix, I just want to be prepared for what the damages are going to be. Are they going to have to dismount all tires to find the problem, then charge me mounting/balancing fees for each wheel? I see that aftermarket sensors run between $25 - $50. Is it just a TPMS sensor battery somewhere going bad?

The light flashes most of the time right when starting the vehicle. Sometimes it will go off on its own, but eventually come back.

Thanks...


2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo - 3.6L V6
105,000 (12/27/15)

1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited - 5.2L V8
366,700 miles (4/21/12) (Laid to rest, but worked)
muzicman82 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 08-23-2017, 01:32 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 9,993
Most tire shops have a portable sensor scanner that they carry around to each sensor and test. They usually do that for free. To fix a sensor, you dismount the tire and replace. Most tire shops want to use sensors they provide.

A pro type ODB scanner like the dealer uses, should be able to read the TPMS module codes, but not your everyday scanner.

Sounds like you may have a sensor battery issue, and may have to wait till it completely dies.

Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is online now  
post #3 of 13 Old 08-23-2017, 07:31 PM
Blackshirts
Registered User
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Media
Posts: 176
bad TPMS sensor probably. They will swap it out and sync it with the computer and you should be good to go.

Did you use slime or fix a flat? They are tough on TPMS sensors?
Blackshirts is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 Old 08-23-2017, 07:52 PM
azzkicker
Registered User
2007 WK 
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Beaverton
Posts: 579
Do you have a display option that shows all four tire pressures? Mine does, but you have to scroll through the menu to find it.

I had one of these sensors break (where the cap goes on). I was in a hurry, and the easy way was to buy a new sensor at an auto parts store and have a tire shop put it in. On the day it happened, only gas stations and the used tire place were open. They told me there were the programmable kind, which required some equipment nobody had that day, and a self programming kind, which was only about $10 more.

I ended up with the universal one, which was about $50, and it works great, but when I air up coming off the trails, it won't report a new pressure until I'm going about 20mph (not a problem, just interesting).

07 WK 5.7 QD2, 4" lift, 33X10" tires, M8000s
ARB twin air,Dual AGM group 49, sliders and skids
azzkicker is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 08-23-2017, 08:14 PM Thread Starter
muzicman82
Registered User
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bear, DE
Posts: 240
Laredo (or at least mine) doesn't have individual tire readings. I have an OBDLink, but couldn't find any info on whether there are PIDs for TPMS.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

2011 Jeep Grand Cherokee Laredo - 3.6L V6
105,000 (12/27/15)

1996 Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited - 5.2L V8
366,700 miles (4/21/12) (Laid to rest, but worked)
muzicman82 is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 08-23-2017, 09:42 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 9,993
Quote:
Originally Posted by azzkicker View Post
...but when I air up coming off the trails, it won't report a new pressure until I'm going about 20mph (not a problem, just interesting).
To save battery life, sensors only transmit pressure when the wheels are rolling above a certain speed, and once every so many revolutions. Each sensor manufacture programs them a bit differently.

Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is online now  
post #7 of 13 Old 08-23-2017, 09:45 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 9,993
The tire pressure module does have a couple dozen error codes such as C1501-96 sensor 1 failure.

Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is online now  
post #8 of 13 Old 08-24-2017, 01:26 PM
JeepGC73
Registered User
2013 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Seattle
Posts: 107
I had the same thing and it was a bad sensor. I had bought the tires from Discount Tire, and they replaced it for free. Light went away and hasn't come back for 3+ years

'13 WK2 V6 LIM | 18x9 MB TKOs | AFE GT Intake | Sprint Booster | RRO Leveling Kit | RRO Rails
JeepGC73 is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 09-16-2017, 05:56 PM
CxPx187
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 25
Have you recently swapped wheels with different TPMS? I bought larger wheels and tires and my light has been flashing ever since.
CxPx187 is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 09-16-2017, 06:09 PM
metalhead
Registered User
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: southampton, Pa
Posts: 1,382
When I worked at a jeep dealership we had a special tpms scan tool. you hold it up close to the valve stem and it would tell you if the sensor was good or bad. My tpms light is on too. My laredo has the display that shows the tire pressure in each tire so I was able to determine it is the right front tire sensor going bad.

1994 YJ (no longer own
2000 Grand Cherokee WJ (no longer own)
2011 Grand Cherokee WK2
metalhead is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 09-16-2017, 10:11 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 9,993
Quote:
Originally Posted by CxPx187 View Post
Have you recently swapped wheels with different TPMS? I bought larger wheels and tires and my light has been flashing ever since.
Does the new wheels have sensors in them, and if so, are they compatible with your year model? They have changed over the years, wheels/tires/sensors from one year do not necessarily work in another. Then there are aftermarket sensors that need to be programmed.

Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is online now  
post #12 of 13 Old 09-17-2017, 12:55 PM
CxPx187
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdCase View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by CxPx187 View Post
Have you recently swapped wheels with different TPMS? I bought larger wheels and tires and my light has been flashing ever since.
Does the new wheels have sensors in them, and if so, are they compatible with your year model? They have changed over the years, wheels/tires/sensors from one year do not necessarily work in another. Then there are aftermarket sensors that need to be programmed.

Yes, the new wheels have sensors in them. Idk if they are compatible or not. I went from a TJ to my WK2, so I'm still getting used to all this technology
CxPx187 is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 09-17-2017, 05:10 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 9,993
If the sensors are compatible and working, the TPMS warning light will turn off within a few miles. The WK2 system automatically resets.

Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome