Radio muted itself on my 2014 Grand Cherokee - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 02-11-2014, 09:08 AM Thread Starter
pooh67br
Registered User
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: North East
Posts: 11
Radio muted itself on my 2014 Grand Cherokee

I just found this issue this morning on my way to work. The radio didn't have sound suddenly. I tried to switch from Sirius to FM and back to Sirius, still didn't work. the sound came back itself several minutes later. it happened a couple of times. anybody has experienced the same issue? thanks.

pooh67br is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-14-2014, 07:43 AM
TurboRush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 207
Did sound play while it was on FM or was it just lost while on Sirius? If just sirius you probably dropped signal, it shouldn't drop for that long but I guess if there is enough interference it could happen. There is also a TSB out there for owner complaints that signal drops frequently or more than it should - they install a new shark fin.
TurboRush is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-16-2014, 05:51 PM
oldmac1
Registered User
2015 WK 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Western Pa
Posts: 339
Same thing happened to me on the 11th also before noon. Am and FM worked fine but no Sirius, I called them and they put me on a 8 minute hold (their statement, not mine). After holding on over 10 minutes I hung up and tried it again from FM and it worked fine. Sure looks the same issue you had in the same morning.

Oldmac1
15 GC Overland
12 Liberty
15 Rubicon Unlimited
oldmac1 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 02-17-2014, 07:39 AM
TurboRush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 207
Hmm, wonder if Sirius had an outage that day
TurboRush is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-17-2014, 10:41 AM
lakeglenville
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: glenville
Posts: 16
I believe there are still radio issues. I have had all the flashes done to my overland and yet I still have radio issues(Freezing, screen going blank). I was told there is another flash coming down the pike in the next few weeks
lakeglenville is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-17-2014, 11:42 AM
TurboRush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 207
Quote:
Originally Posted by lakeglenville View Post
I believe there are still radio issues. I have had all the flashes done to my overland and yet I still have radio issues(Freezing, screen going blank). I was told there is another flash coming down the pike in the next few weeks
What you are experiencing appears to be a completely different issue then what is being discussed here.

That said, most others that have seen something like that have been successful in getting the head unit replaced with a new one.
TurboRush is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome