New to Jeep - JeepForum.com
 1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 Old 02-14-2017, 12:43 PM Thread Starter
Steve11x

New to Jeep

I am new to Jeep and Mopar and looking for advice. I am seriously considering a 2017 Grand Cherokee Summit with the 5.7 Hemi. What do I need to know about Jeep in general? I already love the look and the features, I am looking for more of the technical information.
- What breaks?
- What is the achilles heel of Jeep and Mopar?
- Any features to avoid altogether?

Any help would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 30 Old 02-14-2017, 01:02 PM
cranbiz
2012 JK Wrangler 

Overall, they are pretty reliable. When they break, it can be expensive but for about $3k, you can get a factory MaxCare lifetime warranty.

The Summit has just about all options on it and also has the acoustic windshield. The air suspension may be an issue, been a lot of chatter on here.

You hear more about issues on a forum like this so read thru and make your own determination. That's what I did and I just bought a 2017 Trailhawk.
newdoze likes this.

06 KJ
12 JK, 2.5" Teraflex lift, Bilstein 5100's, BFG KM2's 35x12.5/R17
17 WK2 Trailhawk
KN4BBA
post #3 of 30 Old 02-14-2017, 01:08 PM Thread Starter
Steve11x

Thanks for the help!

post #4 of 30 Old 02-14-2017, 02:54 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced

2011 WK 

There isn't anything in particular that would affect your decision. If you are one that is anal about fit and finish, check the prospects over as some are put together better than others. Make sure you test drive extensively to uncover any annoying characteristics .

The Achilles hill in many areas is the dealer sales and service, but you could say that about any make and model.

The WK2 is an excellent vehicle, buy one you like with confidence.

Current: 2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6
Previous: 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
post #5 of 30 Old 02-14-2017, 02:56 PM
murderedoutGC
2016 WK