Installed aftermarket radio, weird EVIC issue - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK2 Grand Cherokee Forum > Installed aftermarket radio, weird EVIC issue

Rugged Ridge Modular XHD Snorkel Now for both 3.8L and 3.6RIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed Line

Reply
Unread 03-05-2012, 03:48 PM   #1
RageOfFury
Registered User
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 248
Installed aftermarket radio, weird EVIC issue

I installed an aftermarket double-din radio this past weekend. I pretty much did what JGC11 did in his thread (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f309/...dunit-1320196/) using the same wiring harnesses/interfaces.

The installation went well and the radio is working beautifully. The only issue I am having is that the EVIC is switching to Spanish when I unlock the doors in the morning/after work. I have to switch the EVIC back to English each time.

I was wondering if JGC11 had the same issue (I tried to PM you but your mailbox is full). I am thinking that I perhaps have a faulty PAC-Audio C2R-CHY4 Jeep replacement interface. Though everything else is working perfectly.

RageOfFury is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-05-2012, 04:14 PM   #2
nightsordays
Registered User
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 68
Did you check if you got the latest version of the PAC adapter because those adapters got a couple times updated to eliminate errors like yours. You may check with their costumer service.

http://www.pac-audio.com/support.aspx
nightsordays is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-05-2012, 04:19 PM   #3
RageOfFury
Registered User
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 248
I did indeed check that. I have version 1.1.4a. The newest version (1.1.6) corrects only 1 (published) issue which is Fixes "No Signal" text on instrument cluster seen in 2012 vehicles. There is no version 1.1.5
Perhaps 1.1.6 also fixes the EVIC spanish issue I'm having. I'm hoping JGC11 will chime in.
RageOfFury is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-05-2012, 07:39 PM   #4
JGC11
Registered User
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Interwebz of NJ
Posts: 55
Hmmm I haven't had any issue with this whatsoever... and sorry about the PM's I will clear the inbox asap.

Maybe if you reset the PAC adapter/re program it? This is really all I can think about trying to fix this... Maybe give PAC a call or crutchfield.
JGC11 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-05-2012, 07:46 PM   #5
RageOfFury
Registered User
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 248
Did you disconnect the battery when you swapped out the radio? I totally forgot to do that and only realized this once I had the new unit installed. I'm going to disconnect the battery, thus "resetting" the Jeep to see if that fixes it. If not, then I will double check the wiring and I may give PAC or Crutchfield a call.

Another question for ya. The stock radio had 2 wiring harnesses plugged into it. One harness with a lot of wires, the other had only 3. I hooked up the PAC interface to the first harness, leaving the harness with 3 wires disconnected. Is that what you did?
RageOfFury is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-05-2012, 08:48 PM   #6
JGC11
Registered User
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Interwebz of NJ
Posts: 55
I did dis connect the battery...

Yes I left the 2nd one unplugged like you did. I think that that one is for factory NAV and because they mass produce these things its there on all models
JGC11 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-05-2012, 08:58 PM   #7
RageOfFury
Registered User
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 248
Right on. Well I'll disconnect the battery this weekend to "reset" the Jeep to see if that will fix things. I'll also double check the wiring.

Cheers
RageOfFury is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 03-11-2012, 09:11 AM   #8
RageOfFury
Registered User
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 248
I disconnected the battery for about an hour. Issue resolved!
RageOfFury is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools


Suggested Threads





Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.