Head Unit Installation for complete beginner? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK2 Grand Cherokee Forum > Head Unit Installation for complete beginner?

Dual Color LED Light Bars White/AmberFS: 2007-2013 Jeep Wrangler "HALO" Angel Eye KitTHE NEW! VANCO DUAL MODE 15/16″ Big Brake Kit w/Bla

Unread 04-25-2013, 03:19 PM   #1
cju84
2012 WK 

Head Unit Installation for complete beginner?

Hi all,

I've seen several threads regarding after market head unit installations and I still haven't quite found an answer.

I have a 2012 Laredo (6 speaker, no subwoofer) that I've been looking to upgrade. I've seen most people have purchased these units off of Crutchfield along with the adapters/attachments.

I plan to first upgrade to a DVD Head Unit (No GPS as my Nexus 4 works fine) and then eventually new speakers and a rear view camera.

The reason being the sound is absolutely terrible. I'm not sure if an aftermarket head unit will help in itself, but I'm hoping it will. It will also look much more aesthetically pleasing.

My question is: If I know absolutely NOTHING about audio/electronics, would I still be able to change/install an after market head unit with Crutchfield instructions? I understand I may need to buy a dremel to fit a unit.

My Jeep also came with XM Satelite radio (free for 1 year). Will I lose this capability with the after market unit? What about the USB port in the center console?

Thanks in advance!

cju84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-25-2013, 03:28 PM   #2
cju84
2012 WK 

One other question I thought of for those that installed after market units. Should I buy one where the mounting screws are on the top/bottom or sides? Is one easier than the other?

Thanks again.
Unread 04-25-2013, 05:49 PM   #3