Damaged Overland Steering Wheel Trim/Buttons - JeepForum.com

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 11-04-2015, 05:01 PM Thread Starter
NorthRiver1

Damaged Overland Steering Wheel Trim/Buttons

Hey guys,

I am hoping that I can draw on your knowledge and expertise. I am a long time driver of Cherokees and a Commander, and I have just purchased a '13 Overland Summit for my wife.

It is is beautiful shape, except for the steering wheel. On the left side of the wheel, the buttons are smudged and there's a nick/crack in the plastic just above the VR button. The Jeep is in such great shape that this blemish really bothers me.

Are these parts available? If so, can it be a DIY project, or best left to the dealer?

I am enclosing the best picture I have for your reference.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Attached Thumbnails
steeringwheel13.jpg  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 11-04-2015, 06:07 PM
darkrt
2014 WK 

I believe the button covers are replaceable, if not the buttons. Not sure about the other blemished part. Someone will chime in with definite answer.
post #3 of 3 Old 11-04-2015, 07:28 PM
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced

2011 WK 

You can buy the bezel (4) at the parts counter or forum sponsor moparonlineparts.com, $85-$125. Also the switches (~$100). Look in the steering wheel and trim section. With your VIN, they should be able to get you the right part.

The bezel is attached to the wheel with four screws, but you have to remove the center airbag/horn button (11) to get at the front screws. There are two screws that hold the airbag/horn button to the wheel and a couple connectors that you need to be careful with. The bezel and back (3) snap together, so you'll need to pry them apart. A few screws attach the switches (8 and 9) to the bezel. DIY or not is subjective and depends how much anxiety you have working around an airbag.
Attached Thumbnails
Screen Shot 2015-11-04 at 9.27.05 PM.jpg