Aftermarket sound system - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 02-09-2013, 08:01 AM Thread Starter
Jeep_Brothers
Registered User
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 35
Aftermarket sound system

Has anyone hooked up an aftermarket head unit for amps? Is it possible to do that or are there software issues when removing the factory head unit?

I want to hook up a couple amps for a tight sound system I don't have the alpine premium audio.. will this be difficult?

Thanks

Jeep_Brothers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 02-09-2013, 06:12 PM
RageOfFury
Registered User
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 251
Howdy!

I've replaced the base 6-speaker system and the headunit in my 2011 Laredo E. It's not an easy task at all. It took me a whole weekend, a good 20h of work. Getting the door panels off and back on again is a major pain in the a... It's doable, but you have to plan it out and have the right tools.

I went with an all Alpine setup(speakers + amp) & Pioneer headunit.
RageOfFury is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 02-16-2013, 12:20 PM Thread Starter
Jeep_Brothers
Registered User
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 35
Okay well I got a mono amp and 4 channel amp I need to hook up but the factory head navigation unit doesn't have anywhere to hook up RCA cables in the rear.. so I guess I have to get a new unit which brings me back to my original question.

Now if I get an aftermarket alpine double din unit and a PAC C2R-CHY4 + SWI-RC with mounting kit will that be all I need and there won't be any problems?

Thanks for your input.
Jeep_Brothers is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 02-16-2013, 02:48 PM
RageOfFury
Registered User
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 251
Will you be also changing the speakers in the doors?

If you're changing the speakers, using aftermarket amps, then I recommend changing the headunit as well. PAC offers an adapter that will give you RCA outputs from an OEM headunit, but why keep the OEM headunit if you're replacing everything else?

If you go down the aftermarket double din headunit route, you'll need the PAC RP4-CH11 adapter. You'll also need a dash installation kit.
RageOfFury is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome