Aftermaket backup camera with stock headunit? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK2 Grand Cherokee Forum > Aftermaket backup camera with stock headunit?

Introducing MONSTALINER™ UV Permanent DIY Roll On Bed LineGrizzly Lockers available at Rockridge4wd.comThe ULTIMATE "Selectable" Locker System! Brough

Reply
Unread 12-08-2012, 10:23 AM   #1
kodiak1120
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Sewell, NJ
Posts: 27
Aftermaket backup camera with stock headunit?

Has anyone added an aftermarket backup camera with the stock headunit? I have the RES headunit and I'm looking to upgrade, primarily so I can add a backup camera. I came from a GMC Terrain, which comes standard with a backup camera and I really miss it. The stock unit costs a lot more than something you can get from eBay... I was just wondering if the hookup is some sort of standard connection or if it's something proprietary. Thanks,

Kevin

kodiak1120 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-08-2012, 10:40 AM   #2
SPL170db
Registered User
2011  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northern, NJ
Posts: 284
If you get a Lockpick CHR550 it allows you to plug in like 4 additional cameras, obviously you would need to upgrade the head unit to at least the RBZ 430, the RES has no display so you can't exactly plug a camera into it.


http://www.coastaletech.com/CHR550.htm

- Automatically activates the camera input on all Mygig radios as well as the VES and the Sat TV mode.
- The interface allows manual and automatic activation of front/rear/left/right cameras and provides standard video inputs for each as well as providing camera power connections.
SPL170db is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 12-08-2012, 03:06 PM   #3
eibyer
Registered User
2012  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: aj, az
Posts: 430
I don't think it's doable without the dealer activating the camera on the OEM radio or without the use of a lockpick type device. I read a thread on JG that was discussing this months back.
eibyer is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 08-29-2013, 05:15 PM   #4
nrnr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 1
New Jeep Backup Camera Solution

Here is a good one for the new Grand Cherokee. It's from CRUX
#RVCCH-75C:

http://cruxinterfacing.com/products/...75C/index.html
nrnr is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.
Note: All free e-mails have been banned due to mis-use. (Yahoo, Gmail, Hotmail, etc.)
Don't have a non-free e-mail address? Click here for a solution: Manual Account Creation
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.


Thread Tools






Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.