3.6 programmer? - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK2 Grand Cherokee Forum > 3.6 programmer?

Engo winches available at www.rockridge4wd.com! Free shippROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail ROCK BOTTOM prices on LIFT KITS at Rockridge4wd!! WANT TO

Reply
Unread 04-28-2013, 04:03 PM   #1
czjeeper
Registered User
1992 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Washougal, WA
Posts: 1,506
Wk 3.6 programmer?

I'm looking to firm up the lazy shifts and get quicker throttle response.
Anything out yet?
My searches haven't come up with anything.

__________________
US Army combat vet
2011 Grand Cherokee Laredo 3.6
Armed Forces Jeeps Member #125
Red Jeep Club Member #251

In the Portland/Vancouver area? Check 'em out! Piston's Wild Motorsports Club

Click here for 2.5L AX5 to AX15 swap
czjeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-28-2013, 05:30 PM   #2
Dave2002ti
Registered User
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Clifton, VA
Posts: 1,307
Allegedly

Quote:
Originally Posted by czjeeper View Post
I'm looking to firm up the lazy shifts and get quicker throttle response.
Anything out yet?
My searches haven't come up with anything.
There are programmers out for the Jeep Wrangler with 3.6 for model years 2012 and 2013
Dave2002ti is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-29-2013, 01:36 PM   #3
czjeeper
Registered User
1992 YJ Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Washougal, WA
Posts: 1,506
Yeah, mine is a 2011.
__________________
US Army combat vet
2011 Grand Cherokee Laredo 3.6
Armed Forces Jeeps Member #125
Red Jeep Club Member #251

In the Portland/Vancouver area? Check 'em out! Piston's Wild Motorsports Club

Click here for 2.5L AX5 to AX15 swap
czjeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-29-2013, 03:02 PM   #4
Jackal01
Moderator
 
Jackal01's Avatar
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Houston, Texas, Texas
Posts: 2,243
So would the 2012-2013 Wrangler programmer work on the WK2 V6 2012-2013?
__________________

'12 Laredo V6 ORA1|Terra Grappler 265-70-17|MB TKO 17x8.5|Silverstar Ultra low beams|Mopar Front and Rear WK2 slush mats|RRO 2.5" lift
BWoody extended sway bar links|K&N 77 Series Intake|Gibson Exhaust | Viair OBA | RRO Combo Winch mount| Q9000S winch| KC ProSport HID Hilites


Items for sale. See my thread for pictures. PM for details.


K&N 77 series cold air intake

Cobra 75 CB radio
Jackal01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-29-2013, 03:09 PM   #5
ColdCase
My Reality Check Bounced
 
ColdCase's Avatar
2011 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New England
Posts: 3,546
I'm going to guess that if the programmer worked on the WK2, the maker would be advertising it. Perhaps no one tried it. A wrangler program would not load into a WK2, however. Similar situation as the Dodge trucks having V8 programs more than a year before WK2 V8s. Perhaps if enough WK2 V6 owners inquire it would establish a market for the programmer to go after.
__________________
2011 Grand Cherokee Overland V8, 2009 Liberty Rocky Mt V6, 2000 Grand Cherokee Laredo I6, 1979 CJ7 I6 Quadratrac
ColdCase is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-29-2013, 03:35 PM   #6
97HMCS
Registered User
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 272
http://www.quadratec.com/products/17617_8002.htm

http://www.quadratec.com/products/17616_0001.htm

http://www.quadratec.com/products/17608_0123.htm
97HMCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-29-2013, 03:55 PM   #7
Suther
Registered User
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackal01
So would the 2012-2013 Wrangler programmer work on the WK2 V6 2012-2013?
I asked Diablosports and the clear answer was 'No, it will not work!'. My further question if and when a WK2 tune will be out was unanswered.
Suther is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-2013, 04:10 AM   #8
Ungerer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Glenden, Queensland
Posts: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suther

I asked Diablosports and the clear answer was 'No, it will not work!'. My further question if and when a WK2 tune will be out was unanswered.
So why not its still a 3.6L v6 what is not the same about the motor and computer for it .
Ungerer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-2013, 04:40 AM   #9
Suther
Registered User
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ungerer

So why not its still a 3.6L v6 what is not the same about the motor and computer for it .
Good question. I can't answer it, you have to ask Diablosports ;-)
Suther is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-2013, 10:07 AM   #10
kkreit01
Registered User
2011  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 540
What we need, is a 3.92 gear swap, then a tune. That would firm up the shifts.
kkreit01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-30-2013, 01:51 PM   #11
Suther
Registered User
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Virginia Beach, VA
Posts: 56
After asking Quadratec they said the Wk2 V6 was added by mistake. So, bottom line no programmer for the Wk2 V6! :-(
Suther is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-02-2013, 03:32 PM   #12
jim_in_PA
Registered User
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bucks County, PA
Posts: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ungerer View Post
So why not its still a 3.6L v6 what is not the same about the motor and computer for it .
Because its not just the engine that is involved...transmission, computer and other components all are also involved so the tuner would have to support everything as a system. Most interest also seems to be focused on the V8 for both vendors and buyers if you go by forum posts and ads.
__________________
2012 Grand Cherokee Overland Summit 5.7L V8 - Winter Chill with New Saddle Interior
jim_in_PA is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-02-2013, 03:56 PM   #13
Ungerer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Glenden, Queensland
Posts: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim_in_PA

Because its not just the engine that is involved...transmission, computer and other components all are also involved so the tuner would have to support everything as a system. Most interest also seems to be focused on the V8 for both vendors and buyers if you go by forum posts and ads.
If you have a look on ripp superchargers face book page you will see a lot of people would like there v6 done . And yes I know (supercharger ) but they have to chip it too .
Ungerer is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-02-2013, 04:01 PM   #14
97HMCS
Registered User
2012 WK 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suther View Post
After asking Quadratec they said the Wk2 V6 was added by mistake. So, bottom line no programmer for the Wk2 V6! :-(
Not surprised to hear that, kinda suspected the same thing. I just threw it out there without confirmation since I have no interest in a programmer.
97HMCS is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-02-2013, 04:04 PM   #15
Ungerer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Glenden, Queensland
Posts: 698
And did you read all of the posts,because he said that they have a tuner for the v6 3.6L wrangler which you can get the same v6 3.6L & 5 speed auto box in as the WK2 so as I said what is not the same . Yes the running gears for diffs most Likely are . But the running of motor & box by computer ?
Ungerer is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.