2014 Grand Cherokee - Electrical problems? - Page 12 - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Grand Cherokee & Commander Forums > WK2 Grand Cherokee Forum > 2014 Grand Cherokee - Electrical problems?

JK specific skid plates from Clayton Off Road Mfg.RCV Heavy Duty Axle Shafts Now Shipping at Baseline4x4.comStainless Steel Door Hinge Pins

Reply
Unread 01-17-2014, 06:21 PM   #166
TurboRush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by 14summithemi View Post
Awesome! I was wondering why there was no checkbox on this screen for such a common sense feature. Afterall, the top of the page does say it is for seat and steering wheel yet there is only a checkbox for the wheel. My butt is simply never cold PLUS I make frequent stops as a Realtor and once it's warm I hate having to keep turning if off every friggin' time I restart the car when below 40...YA!!!
I might not be completely understanding but I think the auto comfort is all or nothing, aka seat and steering or nothing. Either way, I think you want that tsb performed.

TurboRush is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-17-2014, 07:03 PM   #167
14summithemi
Member
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bay Village, OHIO
Posts: 170
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboRush View Post
I might not be completely understanding but I think the auto comfort is all or nothing, aka seat and steering or nothing. Either way, I think you want that tsb performed.
Gotcha and I will but I agree it is confusing. All or nothing (with the caveat that it only works <=40) is fine with me but the way the menu is in my picture implies that they were intended to be separable which in reality makes more sense, at least to me. My butt is never in need of heat but my hands welcome it very much. I bet most women want both and guys might be a mix.

If it was meant to be all or nothing then why only list the wheel as a checkbox? All or nothing should look like this menu (in my pic from previous post) and only the title having a checkbox (seat and wheel),,,,,whatever, I'll add this TSB to my list (Sirius antenna TSB, backup camera blue screen, blower motor squeal on highest setting, moisture in headlights wont evap, harmonic in steering column)...

This brings up one more point. This Auto Comfort TSB has a stated cutoff date of vehicles mfrd on or before 8/24/13. Mine was mfrd 11/6 so I shouldn't need it, but I do. Also, the Rev E Software update to get you to 13.39.51 had a 11/1/13 cutoff date so I shouldn't have need it, but I did as I had 13.33.7. I am now current with Rev G (13.48.03) and it's date cut was 11/18/13 so that was ok.

My point is that this proves the date cutoffs are not to be believed.
14summithemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-17-2014, 07:43 PM   #168
TurboRush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 190
I agree with you, the cut off dates are not trustyworthy. We've seen it here and I remember my Acura had a terrible rattle where there was a tsb for 2010 but not 2011 but they acknowledged it was the same issue.

Either way I'd present this to the dealer.
TurboRush is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-19-2014, 10:07 AM   #169
TurboRush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 190
I looked at mine today and I only have the single checkbox that says steering wheel (although I never read close enough to pick up on it). To your point it's either a poor wording and/or a missing feature, either way uncheck ing it should kill both the heated wheel and seat on start up when below 40.... If it doesn't then you def need to tsb.
TurboRush is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-19-2014, 12:53 PM   #170
14summithemi
Member
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Bay Village, OHIO
Posts: 170
Ya, my seats always come on <40, even with box unchecked, no biggie, I'll have it addressed, just glad it IS being addressed by Jeep.
14summithemi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-23-2014, 01:10 AM   #171
Steph72
Registered User
2014  
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mokena, Il
Posts: 1
2014 jeep grand Cherokee overland alarm keeps going off

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harrell15 View Post
I had a problem with my 2014 Limited car alarm going off on its own. Brought it in the first time and "the problem wouldn't reproduce itself," so they did nothing. Brought it in a week later and they updated the software. It lasted 3 days, then started again. Brought it in a third time, and they claimed the hood latch assembly was broken and needed to be replaced. So far I've had it 2 weeks with no issues. But after reading this thread, I'm thinking that unfortunately these issues won't be my last...

This is my first post hope I'm doing this right..... But I am having the same issues. The first time it happened I thought I just hit the panic button when I heard the alarm going off when I was at work . But unlocked it w the key fob and relocked it. 3 mins later alarm started going off. This happened about 6 times then gave up a left the car unlocked because I was so annoyed. Went home figured I try the lock again 3 mins later same issue with the alarm so I left it unlocked. Called the dealership and made an appointment they said I shouldn't be seeing these issues with the new jeep but bring it in ( lucky everytime the alarm went off there were others around bc i thought i was loosing it)When I went to dealership of course my alarm did not act up. They said everything looked normal but reset the system as a just in case. Sure enough 3 days later there goes the alarm. It happened at work, at the store, and at home and etc. Called the dealership and left car for a week they gave me a loner said nothing happened that i need to keep track of what key fob acts up and when and how long .they said no other 2014 jeep gc overland has had this happen they called other dealerships and head office so they say I hope it doesn't happen again but feel like that's a long shot. Aggravated bc It's brand new. Has anyone else experienced this? Any thing I can ask them to look at? Thanks sorry for ranting
Steph72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-23-2014, 06:51 AM   #172
TurboRush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 190
Yep, the most common cause of this has been the hood sensor. Its on the driver side shock tower if I remember correctly. Open the hood and take a look, make sure it doesn't look damaged and that it's fully seated/connected. Worse case scenario you could unhook the sensor and that should allow you to lock the car without the alarm going off.

You can tell if its the panic going off or the alarm - with panic you can unlock car, get in, start it, with it still going off. With the alarm it'll turn off when you unlock, start the car, etc.
TurboRush is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-23-2014, 12:51 PM   #173
jmullinsiii
Registered User
2014  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Evergreen, CO
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by ttk104 View Post
I bought a Limited V6 on Sunday. I was driving home from work last night with 40 miles on odometer. I felt a downshift, the engine light went on, and I could not get past 4th gear nor shift into Sport mode to change gears manually. I drove a couple more miles and turned car off for an hour. When I restarted the shifting seemed back to normal but the check engine light was still on and the Eco Mode button had turned orange.

I went to the dealer this morning and they upgraded the software. That seemed to fix the CEL but the Eco Boost button light is still orange. I can turn it off but it will not turn back to green, like it was for the first 40 miles. No one at the Dealer even knows what the orange light means let alone can get it to turn off. There is no mention of the button color in the manual.

Does anyone have an idea of what the orange light means. I'm guessing it means Eco Mode doesn't work. I am not sure if that is a sign of bigger problems or I just can't set that mode.
Oh great...mine has been orange since day 1. Never saw it green like the pictures in the manual/online. Mine is in the shop for a 3rd day today for NAV not being able to locate the car, 3G signal hasn't worked in 2 weeks, time is wrong, screen has frozen up 3 times in the past 2 weeks, and when it does, the manual buttons won't work either. The backup camera went out once. They've done every software update available, to no avail. I think the antenna is broken. This no loaner car/no free rental car policy is crap! Mine is the 2014 Overland and just rolled over 6,900 miles this morning on the way back to the dealer.
jmullinsiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-23-2014, 12:59 PM   #174
TurboRush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmullinsiii View Post
Oh great...mine has been orange since day 1. Never saw it green like the pictures in the manual/online. Mine is in the shop for a 3rd day today for NAV not being able to locate the car, 3G signal hasn't worked in 2 weeks, time is wrong, screen has frozen up 3 times in the past 2 weeks, and when it does, the manual buttons won't work either. The backup camera went out once. They've done every software update available, to no avail. I think the antenna is broken. This no loaner car/no free rental car policy is crap! Mine is the 2014 Overland and just rolled over 6,900 miles this morning on the way back to the dealer.
Open case with Jeep if you haven't already. Say you want a rental car - that should get you the rental and gets your dealers techs working directly with Jeep to resolve - sounds like a new head unit coming your way.

As for the Eco button, I think mine is orange and always has been (and I've had not transmission issues, I have the 8hp70). I'll validate this afternoon.
TurboRush is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-23-2014, 03:19 PM   #175
jmullinsiii
Registered User
2014  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Evergreen, CO
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboRush View Post
Open case with Jeep if you haven't already. Say you want a rental car - that should get you the rental and gets your dealers techs working directly with Jeep to resolve - sounds like a new head unit coming your way.

As for the Eco button, I think mine is orange and always has been (and I've had not transmission issues, I have the 8hp70). I'll validate this afternoon.
Thank you. And you're exactly right. The dealer just called & said they've ordered a new head unit. I asked him if they checked the antenna, and got a smart-*** answer back...which I'm taking as a "no." They refuse to pay for my rental car or give me a loaner car. I guess I'll have to call Jeep directly about that.

Okay, cool. I haven't had any real transmission issues either...a couple of slips, but nothing consistent.
jmullinsiii is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-23-2014, 04:57 PM   #176
TurboRush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 190
Confirmed my Eco button is orange, matches the auto temp button to. I think that's what it's supposed to be, just a discrepancy from the manual.
TurboRush is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-23-2014, 06:00 PM   #177
BobsWK2
Registered User
2014 WK 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: West Coast
Posts: 369
Quote:
Originally Posted by TurboRush View Post
Yep, the most common cause of this has been the hood sensor. Its on the driver side shock tower if I remember correctly. Open the hood and take a look, make sure it doesn't look damaged and that it's fully seated/connected. Worse case scenario you could unhook the sensor and that should allow you to lock the car without the alarm going off.
Antone have a photo of this sensor that is mounted to the d/s shock tower?
__________________
2014 Summit 4X4 V8
BobsWK2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-23-2014, 06:38 PM   #178
TurboRush
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Portsmouth, NH
Posts: 190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BobsWK2 View Post
Antone have a photo of this sensor that is mounted to the d/s shock tower?
I'm on the road, I can take a pic Tuesday if nobody else has.
TurboRush is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.