JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   Film, Music and Art (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f308/)
-   -   The Photography Questions Thread (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f308/photography-questions-thread-525517/)

AlTheKillerr 02-26-2008 06:20 PM

The Photography Questions Thread

I decided to start a thread where i and whoever else can ask photography related questions so that there are 20 of them everyother day.

my question:

im looking for some lens cleaner. i have a microfiber clothe that is specificly for lenses but no cleaner. what kind of cleaner should i get? can a lens be cleaned to much? i dont want to rub off any kind of clear protectent on the lens. also can the cleaner be used on my UV filter? its the cheap ~20 dollar one from best buy...

Rezneck 02-26-2008 08:12 PM

I'm not a pro photo guy, or even much of an amateur, but I am experienced in rifle optics. So...

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mr. Crom (Post 4870312)
what kind of cleaner should i get? can a lens be cleaned to much? i dont want to rub off any kind of clear protectent on the lens. also can the cleaner be used on my UV filter? its the cheap ~20 dollar one from best buy...

I think whatever cleaning solution they sell in camera shops is OK. I don't think any specific brand matters. I have a sneaking suspition that it's just distilled water anyway, but I might be wrong.

I won't say that you can clean a lens too much but I think there is some risk for damage involved whenever the glass is touched with anything, even cleaning stuff. Trap a little piece of unseen grit between the cloth and glass, and you've got scratches. Even if you don't see them, thay can accumilate. I'm pretty picky about not letting my glass get dirty to begin with. Do you have one of those brushes with the blower thingy? If not, get one.

I clean my filter with no problems.

Rezneck 02-26-2008 08:19 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by thedirt (Post 4871011)