JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   Military Jeepers (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f304/)
-   -   Who is/was military? (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f304/who-military-286295/)

trance_junkie 06-23-2006 02:12 PM

Who is/was military?

I am currently in college, a couple years left. However, my questions is whether or not I want to go through into civilian life, or go military. I would ideally love to be an SF officer. Realistically, how hard is it to become special forces? I know it would help that I have a degree for sure. I am just trying to get a feel, considering our nations current war time status, if it would be a good idea to join. What are your thoughts.

Josh

cyclic17 06-23-2006 02:23 PM

Right now, the Army is having a hard time keeping SF guys in, because they can join the civilian sector doing security work and make 3x the money.

The hardest part about SF is all of the initial training---very high washout rate.

Call your local recruiter for answers. (Just don't give him your #!!!)

Matt Gertsch 06-23-2006 02:28 PM

I had 4 years of jumping out of planes, blowing stuff away with big a** machine guns and playing with explosives. How is that not cool?

I also learned discipline and what true brotherhood is. I had never had someone in my life that I would die for without thought. I also never had anyone in my life that would do the same for me. I wouldn't trade those four years for anything. I'll do it again in the next life too.

Colo Commanche 06-23-2006 02:32 PM

Former Ranger, three tours VN, Sgt E-6, I 75th Iron Rangers, BRO...

HuntingForDeer 06-23-2006 03:27 PM

If you can make it through the training it will change your life.
The training for any elite squad in the US military is tough, and will test you to the limits.
You can do it, just go for it and don't quit, even when you think you can't handle another day.
You will be glad you did later, instead of spending your life wondering if you could have.