Where to splice electrical? - Page 2 - JeepForum.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #16 of 22 Old 04-02-2014, 03:12 PM Thread Starter
chex96
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Macomb
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by lfhoward View Post
I added a fuse panel and a switched power outlet using a relay and chronicled it here: http://www.lostjeeps.com/forum/phpBB...p?f=45&t=72386
You can use as much or as little of my setup as you want, but there are a few tips in there about wiring this kind of thing. The fuse you can move to make your stock power outlet on all the time or only with the key is also described in this thread.
thank you very much for the link! i have one more question, how do i alter the fuse so that its not a hot source but a switched source? this would be on the stock oem 12v accessory

chex96 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #17 of 22 Old 04-02-2014, 05:00 PM
lfhoward
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Morrisville
Posts: 809
The 20 Amp M7 fuse in the KK's main fuse box is for the Jeep's OEM power outlet. It has 2 positions, one that allows the power outlet to be hot all the time, and the other to send power only when the key is in the ACC or ON position.

2008 Liberty Sport 4x4 Automatic
lfhoward is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 04-02-2014, 05:21 PM
kiwi_outdoors
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Oakland
Posts: 51
M7 fuse

Quote:
Originally Posted by lfhoward View Post
The 20 Amp M7 fuse in the KK's main fuse box is for the Jeep's OEM power outlet. It has 2 positions, one that allows the power outlet to be hot all the time, and the other to send power only when the key is in the ACC or ON position.
Good to know - and what is the default setting?

1997 XJ, automatic, stock 4x4
2008 KK Sport 6 speed, stock 4x4
kiwi_outdoors is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 04-02-2014, 05:52 PM Thread Starter
chex96
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Macomb
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by lfhoward View Post
The 20 Amp M7 fuse in the KK's main fuse box is for the Jeep's OEM power outlet. It has 2 positions, one that allows the power outlet to be hot all the time, and the other to send power only when the key is in the ACC or ON position.
How do u change the positions? Do you just rotate the m7 180 degrees?
chex96 is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 04-02-2014, 06:29 PM
lfhoward
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Morrisville
Posts: 809
There are three holes but the fuse has only two pins. Just move the fuse sideways to change the functionality. I don't know what the default was, but I currently have mine on ACC power, because sometimes I leave my electronics plugged into the power outlet and I don't want them to drain the battery while the Jeep is off.

Here is a photo I found on another JeepForum post:

2008 Liberty Sport 4x4 Automatic
lfhoward is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 04-02-2014, 08:12 PM Thread Starter
chex96
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Macomb
Posts: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by lfhoward View Post
There are three holes but the fuse has only two pins. Just move the fuse sideways to change the functionality. I don't know what the default was, but I currently have mine on ACC power, because sometimes I leave my electronics plugged into the power outlet and I don't want them to drain the battery while the Jeep is off.

Here is a photo I found on another JeepForum post:
thank you very much! issue solved, i am now running a low output voltmeter gauge off of my 12v accessory socket with a switched circuit
chex96 is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 04-02-2014, 09:35 PM
Poncherello
Moderator
2010 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Paterson
Posts: 1,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattyvac View Post
I would never splice into ANYTHING. Years of working on boats, cars, and computers has taught me this.

The tiny, bare-minimum, wiring the OEM companies such as CDJ use on their vehicles is ONLY rated for the output of that one device it's going to. Putting two 12v acc inputs in one OEM line is asking for trouble even though 'it may work' for some.

I would add a new fuse box to your jeep for all additional accessories. ESPECIALLY if you want to run a 12v ACC input that will be running a converter with plugs on it to run generators and TV's, etc.

Such as this:

You did a nice job with that!

When you get knee-deep in a situation, floor it.
Poncherello is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome