Trick to get to oil filter? - JeepForum.com

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 11-02-2013, 10:18 AM Thread Starter
manny85
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 9
Trick to get to oil filter?

Has anyone else changed their own oil on the KK? I've got a 2012 and it's way way up at the front and top of the motor? Is there a easy way to get to it? I pulled off my skid plate and that did not help much. I got it of and put a new one on but there is very little room and you need a super skinny long arm. Any ideas ?

manny85 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 11-02-2013, 10:54 AM
Ted15
Registered User
2010 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Akron
Posts: 578
VERY LONG extension and an oil filter socket. You can get to it from the front but it's a pita.
The last time I changed my oil, I laid under the front head first and was able to reach over my head.

2010 KK Sport, Detoures Knucklebone & backbone, smittybilt XRC 10, rigid led lights, R/L sliders & rack, cb, EMT2, R/K 15x7, OME, JBA, mopar skids & hitch, headlight covers, 4.10's and TruTracs
Ted15 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 11-04-2013, 11:49 AM
Babaki
Registered User
2012 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 115
the only way i could get to it was from the front as well. i have a filter wrench and long extension but i dont get how that would help. i just reach my arm straight in through the fan shroud and grab it.
Babaki is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 11-04-2013, 08:42 PM Thread Starter
manny85
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 9
Thanks Guys.
manny85 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 12-03-2013, 07:59 PM
quadracer512
Registered User
2009 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lemoore
Posts: 8
Stupid Dodge! I wasted quite a bit if time trying to size up that oil filter. The only way i could get to it was from the front, only after I drove the front up on ramps. Again, stupid Dodge! So many places around that engine block they could have put it, but nooooo.
quadracer512 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 12-04-2013, 08:36 AM
Havoc3D
Registered User
2011 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Flushing
Posts: 25
Wow...I always did my own oil changes on previous vehicles, but it sounds like on this it might be worth it to buy my own oil and pay the local garage for their $13 oil change. Just give them my bottle of royal purple and a filter and let them have at it....
Havoc3D is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 12-04-2013, 08:52 AM
quadracer512
Registered User
2009 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lemoore
Posts: 8
Just make sure you look to see what filter you do have. I at first had Walmart do my oil change. The next time, i did it. The filter looked suspect as in I'm not sure they changed it, dye to the difficulty.
quadracer512 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 12-04-2013, 10:41 AM
Slayers
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Dearborn Heights
Posts: 27
Just did my this last weekend.

Was not as hard as everyone says to take off I did struggle to put back on but it was getting dark at the time and I was struggling to find the right spot.
Slayers is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 12-04-2013, 05:44 PM
Afoos1
Registered User
2010 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 12
When I changed mine I just broke my forearm to give me another elbow. That gave me enough joints to be able to manipulate the filter. Actually I was just able to reach it but not without scrapes on my arms from the air dam. Definitely could have been better designed.
Afoos1 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 12-04-2013, 09:22 PM
Poncherello
Moderator
2010 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Paterson
Posts: 1,128
A while back I inquired about an oil filter relocation kit, but had received some negative feedback about it. I agree the oil filter is definitely not at the best spot. I under if it is an easier or difficult on the new Cherokees and Grand Cherokees?

When you get knee-deep in a situation, floor it.
Poncherello is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 12-04-2013, 10:18 PM
tjkj2002
Registered User
2002 KJ Liberty 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 8,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by Afoos1 View Post
When I changed mine I just broke my forearm to give me another elbow. That gave me enough joints to be able to manipulate the filter. Actually I was just able to reach it but not without scrapes on my arms from the air dam. Definitely could have been better designed.
The oil filter has been in the exact same spot on the 3.7 since it 1st came out for the '02 KJ,and the same spot in 4.7 V8's since '99.One of the easier filters to get to them some.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Poncherello View Post
A while back I inquired about an oil filter relocation kit, but had received some negative feedback about it. I agree the oil filter is definitely not at the best spot. I under if it is an easier or difficult on the new Cherokees and Grand Cherokees?
The new 3.6's and 3.2's(assuming since it's a baby 3.6) use a canister filter located on the top of the engine.

'02 Liberty sitting on 35" tires,HP44,RockJock60,and AtlasII t-case
tjkj2002 is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 12-05-2013, 03:05 AM
Ted15
Registered User
2010 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Akron
Posts: 578
I don't know why there was negative feedback, people have been relocating oil filters for a long time. I looked at doing that but couldn't find a good way to mount the part that replaces the OEM filter, it's really tight right there.

2010 KK Sport, Detoures Knucklebone & backbone, smittybilt XRC 10, rigid led lights, R/L sliders & rack, cb, EMT2, R/K 15x7, OME, JBA, mopar skids & hitch, headlight covers, 4.10's and TruTracs
Ted15 is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 12-06-2013, 10:33 PM
Poncherello
Moderator
2010 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Paterson
Posts: 1,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted15
I don't know why there was negative feedback, people have been relocating oil filters for a long time. I looked at doing that but couldn't find a good way to mount the part that replaces the OEM filter, it's really tight right there.
Something about possible leaks between the lines and fasteners and the oil pump not being able to sufficiently pump oil through the motor with the extra line. Not certain how true both of those factors are.

When you get knee-deep in a situation, floor it.
Poncherello is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 12-07-2013, 05:15 AM
josworth
Registered User
2010 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Akron
Posts: 467
Quote:
Originally Posted by Poncherello View Post
Something about possible leaks between the lines and fasteners and the oil pump not being able to sufficiently pump oil through the motor with the extra line. Not certain how true both of those factors are.
That is what I was thinking as well. I am definitely going to try and find out. After performing my first oil change that was exactly the first thing that crossed my mind. "Wonder if they make a relocation setup for this". I think it is great that they went the "Mercedes" route on the 3.6 with a cartridge filter. My wife has a R350 and doing an oil change on that is a breeze, even with a lower panel to remove to get to the drain plug. Plus you never have to worry about the filter gasket sticking to the engine. Only thing that sucks there is that little old V6 takes 8 quarts of synthetic oil and a Mercedes oil filter cartridge.. On a good day an oil change on that costs me $80 in parts and fluid.
josworth is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 12-07-2013, 05:39 AM
Ted15
Registered User
2010 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Akron
Posts: 578
IMO, leaks aren't an issue it it's installed properly with quality hoses. The flow issue shouldn't be a problem either if the hoses are large enough to allow unrestricted oil flow. The oil pump is a positive displacement pump, the little bit of increased travel to the filter shouldn't matter just be sure to add the proper amount of oil to fill the filter assembly.

2010 KK Sport, Detoures Knucklebone & backbone, smittybilt XRC 10, rigid led lights, R/L sliders & rack, cb, EMT2, R/K 15x7, OME, JBA, mopar skids & hitch, headlight covers, 4.10's and TruTracs
Ted15 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome