post #1 of Old 06-14-2011, 10:00 AM Thread Starter
jeepfreak108989
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Mountain top
Posts: 3
Subwoofer installation

Hey guys,
I just bought a 2008 jeep liberty. I love the thing, minus the sound system. I have some sick polk audio subwoofers i want to install but i HATE drilling into my vehicles. IS there anyway to run the power wire from the battery to the trunk without drilling through the firewall? I previously owened a 99 grand cherokee and i simply slid it through the door panel. It doesnt seem possible to me at the moment. Any suggestions?

jeepfreak108989 is offline  
post #2 of Old 06-14-2011, 10:45 AM
Liberty09MN
Registered User
2009 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Ham Lake
Posts: 178
When I did my install in my 09 I found a rubber gasket/cap thing in the far right of the firewall when looking under the hood. I poked through and got my 0 gauge wire through and kept a water tight seal.

This is a pic from inside if you pull down the panel below the steering wheel, far left underneath.

Liberty09MN is offline  
post #3 of Old 06-14-2011, 01:52 PM Thread Starter
jeepfreak108989
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Mountain top
Posts: 3
thank you sooo much! the same, well at least another rubber gasket, is there! its slightly higher in the 08, but it's there!
jeepfreak108989 is offline  
post #4 of Old 06-14-2011, 05:35 PM
SuperRliBerty
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,442
I used the rubber gasket too ....

2008 Sport Liberty
Cold air intake*Trush (magnaflow) turbo muffler* Hypertech power program*
Hood Prop mod. Battery Quick Release mod.
Resonator removed (sounds like a V8 on start up)
SuperRliBerty is offline  
post #5 of Old 01-10-2012, 07:23 AM
smigelskijk
Registered User
2009 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 48
What did you use to get the RCA outputs?
smigelskijk is offline  
post #6 of Old 01-10-2012, 11:07 AM
LibertyRS
Registered User
2012 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 301
You have to have an aftermarket headunit or get a converter from speakerwire to get rca terminals. and just run all that **** through the panneling

2012 Jeep KK
Stormtrooped
ZZzz
LibertyRS is offline  
post #7 of Old 01-10-2012, 04:03 PM
smigelskijk
Registered User
2009 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 48
Could you link me to what will work to get the RCA terminals for a stock HU with just CD player? Thanks
smigelskijk is offline  
post #8 of Old 01-19-2012, 10:33 AM
scheki
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: chesterfield
Posts: 30
I removed the radio and spliced into the speaker wires with a rca converter.

2008 Liberty
www.supermotors.net/registry/23707
scheki is offline  
post #9 of Old 01-23-2012, 04:50 AM
smigelskijk
Registered User
2009 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by scheki View Post
I removed the radio and spliced into the speaker wires with a rca converter.
Where did you get the converter from, and which wires did you splice?
smigelskijk is offline  
post #10 of Old 01-23-2012, 10:27 AM
scheki
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: chesterfield
Posts: 30
I have had the converter for a fer years, i think an auto parts store, I dont remember the wires, if you do a search in the form someone posted the wire diagram, thats what I used.

2008 Liberty
www.supermotors.net/registry/23707
scheki is offline  
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome