Roof mounting lights - JeepForum.com
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 06-02-2014, 03:50 AM Thread Starter
Halloween
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 119
Roof mounting lights

I am in the process of mounting lights to my roof rack and was wondering how most of you went about running the wires? Is there a drain whole under the rail mounts I could access
I want to keep the wiring as low key hidden and factory looking as possible and not have wires everywhere c
Thanks

Halloween is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 06-05-2014, 11:08 PM
RMarine
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lake Stevens
Posts: 42
I actually ran mine to the back upper inside of the rear lid. cut a small hole in the rubber wire grommet already there then siliconed it. Considering I live in Seattle Wa, I can tell you no leeks from it :P
RMarine is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 07-16-2014, 12:28 PM
Arctic_4x4
Registered User
2012 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Flushing
Posts: 14
I used the Mopar kit. It's easy to install, you just have to summon the nerve to drill a hole in your roof.
Arctic_4x4 is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 07-16-2014, 02:04 PM Thread Starter
Halloween
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arctic_4x4
I used the Mopar kit. It's easy to install, you just have to summon the nerve to drill a hole in your roof.
That's the issue. I know I have to but want to do it in the most covert kind of way
Halloween is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 07-16-2014, 02:45 PM
Arctic_4x4
Registered User
2012 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Flushing
Posts: 14
It was hard drilling into a new car but the instructions were good and as long as you take your time with the measuring and drilling, there are no problems. I've had it for a year now and it has survived numerous rain storms and winter with no leaks at all.
Arctic_4x4 is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 07-16-2014, 02:48 PM
RENE65
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: LAVAL
Posts: 307
Measure twice, drill once
RENE65 is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 07-16-2014, 02:54 PM
Arctic_4x4
Registered User
2012 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Flushing
Posts: 14
I think I measured 20 times before the smallest drill bit I had made the first hole
Arctic_4x4 is offline  
post #8 of 15 Old 07-16-2014, 04:37 PM
badhare
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: new york
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by RMarine View Post
I actually ran mine to the back upper inside of the rear lid. cut a small hole in the rubber wire grommet already there then siliconed it. Considering I live in Seattle Wa, I can tell you no leeks from it :P
Best way to do it, personally.

Then again, i don't have the balls to drill a hole in the roof.

All the rest of you must have some serious nuts. ;p
badhare is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 07-23-2014, 02:38 PM
Mattyvac
Registered User
2012 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 143
My lights were LED, so I only needed 14ga wire. I ran mine under the weather striping and down the side of the windshield into the engine bay where by fuse box is.
Mattyvac is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 07-23-2014, 05:51 PM Thread Starter
Halloween
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattyvac
My lights were LED, so I only needed 14ga wire. I ran mine under the weather striping and down the side of the windshield into the engine bay where by fuse box is.
Photo ?
Halloween is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 07-23-2014, 06:40 PM
Mattyvac
Registered User
2012 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 143
Here's the best photo I have, and I added some MSpaint to it lol

The red line is where I ran the wires + and - under the weather stripping and the roof rail, the yellow circles are where you can kind of see my two black wires sticking out to verify that path.

Mattyvac is offline  
post #12 of 15 Old 07-24-2014, 10:12 AM
rescue575
Registered User
2011 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Franklin Square
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattyvac
Here's the best photo I have, and I added some MSpaint to it lol The red line is where I ran the wires + and - under the weather stripping and the roof rail, the yellow circles are where you can kind of see my two black wires sticking out to verify that path.
hey Matt,

How did you get the wire under that plastic rail between the roof rail and windshield?

2011 Liberty Sport
2 KC Slimlite[RIGHT] 130 Watt Long Range on JK Bar
TMS Aluminum Roof Rack Cross Bars
Cobra 75, Firestik Door Jam Mount, HD Spring, 2Ft Firestik
Dunlop Fierce Attitude M/T
rescue575 is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 07-24-2014, 10:49 AM
Mattyvac
Registered User
2012 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 143
Quote:
Originally Posted by rescue575 View Post
hey Matt,

How did you get the wire under that plastic rail between the roof rail and windshield?
It's held in with clips, use a flathead screwdriver to get under it and pop it up or pry it over- once you have a gap just run your wires in there.

I put a little hot glue every few inches to keep my wires down in the groove.
Mattyvac is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 07-24-2014, 04:25 PM
rescue575
Registered User
2011 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Franklin Square
Posts: 1,097
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattyvac
It's held in with clips, use a flathead screwdriver to get under it and pop it up or pry it over- once you have a gap just run your wires in there. I put a little hot glue every few inches to keep my wires down in the groove.
Great. Gotta give that a try this weekend. Was the glue absolutely needed or did you just do that for your own peace of mind?

2011 Liberty Sport
2 KC Slimlite[RIGHT] 130 Watt Long Range on JK Bar
TMS Aluminum Roof Rack Cross Bars
Cobra 75, Firestik Door Jam Mount, HD Spring, 2Ft Firestik
Dunlop Fierce Attitude M/T
rescue575 is offline  
post #15 of 15 Old 07-25-2014, 09:44 AM
Mattyvac
Registered User
2012 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 143
Not needed I don't think. Depends on how rigid your wires are I guess.
Mattyvac is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome