Programing a non stock tire size - JeepForum.com

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 07-04-2013, 08:56 AM Thread Starter
jrpomeroy2
Registered User
2009 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Painesville
Posts: 2
Programing a non stock tire size

I just put 245 75 R 16 on my 2009 Liberty and would like the speedometer and odometer to read correctly. This is size is about 3% bigger in circumference; the tire store did not have a programmer for Jeep and setup an appointment with the closest dealer. When the dealer went to reprogram it they said there where 10 different sizes that could be programmed and 245 75 R16 wasn't one of them nor were any of the available size close to its circumference. Anyone have suggestions or solutions?

jrpomeroy2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 07-04-2013, 09:04 AM
Gageraid
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Branchburg
Posts: 1,525
Hypertech programmer should be able to solve it.
Gageraid is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 07-06-2013, 04:12 AM
Ted15
Registered User
2010 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Akron
Posts: 578
If the mechanic is worth a crap he'll be able to do it. My dealer did but the mechanic told me there was some math involved. When I regeared, the shop that did the work was able to program the speedo too.

2010 KK Sport, Detoures Knucklebone & backbone, smittybilt XRC 10, rigid led lights, R/L sliders & rack, cb, EMT2, R/K 15x7, OME, JBA, mopar skids & hitch, headlight covers, 4.10's and TruTracs
Ted15 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 07-06-2013, 09:32 PM
huntb
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Grand Haven
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gageraid View Post
Hypertech programmer should be able to solve it.
Hypertech did not work for me. After I set the new tire size and programmed I got a CEL and my ABS/ESP lights came on
huntb is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 07-07-2013, 07:34 AM
Gageraid
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Branchburg
Posts: 1,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by huntb View Post
Hypertech did not work for me. After I set the new tire size and programmed I got a CEL and my ABS/ESP lights came on
How off was it? I know I've read that if you make the tire size so exact on the Hypertech, it won't read right and to select the next available size.

I still have stock tires.
Gageraid is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 07-07-2013, 08:45 AM
huntb
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Grand Haven
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gageraid View Post
How off was it? I know I've read that if you make the tire size so exact on the Hypertech, it won't read right and to select the next available size.

I still have stock tires.
The tires are 30.05" and I selected 30" on the Hypertech
huntb is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 07-07-2013, 07:13 PM
Gageraid
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Branchburg
Posts: 1,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by huntb View Post
The tires are 30.05" and I selected 30" on the Hypertech
Have you tried calling them or contacting them on Facebook?
Gageraid is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 07-07-2013, 07:31 PM
JSAN
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Northern Canada
Posts: 76
I also have 30.5" Tires and tried to reprogram with Hypertech and gave me same results as the person above. I had Traction and ABS lights on. Changed it back to stock.

I think the difference is 4-5% overall if you're going 100km/h, Speedo will show 104km/h. It's barely noticeable at lower speeds.
JSAN is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 07-08-2013, 06:44 AM
Ted15
Registered User
2010 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Akron
Posts: 578
Time for 4.10's ;-) err uh I mean 4Wheel Parts can reset it, they did mine when they put in the gears.

2010 KK Sport, Detoures Knucklebone & backbone, smittybilt XRC 10, rigid led lights, R/L sliders & rack, cb, EMT2, R/K 15x7, OME, JBA, mopar skids & hitch, headlight covers, 4.10's and TruTracs
Ted15 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 07-08-2013, 09:31 AM
MtBJet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ted15
Time for 4.10's ;-) err uh I mean 4Wheel Parts can reset it, they did mine when they put in the gears.
Mind me asking for the list of what was needed for the install and the cost incurred?
MtBJet is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 07-08-2013, 09:39 AM
Ted15
Registered User
2010 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Akron
Posts: 578
Roughly $2800. Detroit Trutracs, 4.10 ring and pinion, master rebuild kits front and rear. The labor was about $350 per axle and is included in the price listed. This will bring a 32" tire very close to stock performance. I plan to put on 31" tires so I should have a little giddy up left over. The thing runs great now. Time for the next step, hypertech :-)

2010 KK Sport, Detoures Knucklebone & backbone, smittybilt XRC 10, rigid led lights, R/L sliders & rack, cb, EMT2, R/K 15x7, OME, JBA, mopar skids & hitch, headlight covers, 4.10's and TruTracs
Ted15 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 07-08-2013, 09:49 AM
shawnicles
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Calgary
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by huntb View Post
Hypertech did not work for me. After I set the new tire size and programmed I got a CEL and my ABS/ESP lights came on
I just did the programming last night and my ESP light just stays on and also the light in the middle for the stability control.
shawnicles is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome