Jeep Enthusiast Forums banner

Please Help!

2K views 19 replies 9 participants last post by  Gageraid 
#1 ·
Last year, I graduated from undergrad and as a present, my parents took me shopping for my first car. They know infinitely more about cars than I do, so it was great to have them to help make a decision--I was going to be paying for the thing for five years at least so it had to be a smart investment right? I ended up with a used 2009 Jeep Liberty--the sport--and liked it well enough until I started having problems with it about 7 months in. It came with about 94k miles on it--I know that probably should have been my first clue--and I was the second owner. First the tire light came on. Once I realized what it meant, I got them all checked and filled with air. Two weeks later one of the wheels gave out on the highway. I put the spare (full sized) in and left it at that until I realized the low air light wouldn't go away. Checked it out again and was told that one of my sensors had broken. Joy. I bought a new sensor (expensive), managed to find the super special mid sized truck tire the dealership had installed on my car at the only place in the world that sold it (not kidding) and had everything put together. It was around this time that my car started having what felt like suspension issues. It couldn't turn properly without an ominous careening feeling paired with a terrifying creaking (read: only wide turns possible), and when ever I came to a stop it would roll back, then jump forward, then drive forward. The man who replaced my tires was rather alarmed and told me to take it to the dealership. By the time I did a few days later, I'd had the harrowing experience of driving on the highway unable to maintain 40 or even 30mph despite my gas pedal literally being pressed to the ground (the engine light went on this point). I called the dealership, they told me it was a power issue (also expensive) and fixed it up. Two weeks later my engine light was still on a