P 300 P303 P304 .. leaking down on coil pack? - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Liberty Forums > KK Liberty Forum > P 300 P303 P304 .. leaking down on coil pack?

Building a Bumper?Ruffstuff Axle Simple Swap Kit!~Artec JK 1 TON SWAP~

Unread 04-05-2011, 10:46 PM   #1
thadoc8113
2003 KK Liberty 

P 300 P303 P304 .. leaking down on coil pack?

Im no mechanic, but i am able to fix most things. Just not familar with engine wrk. Heres my dilema. My engine light came on says misfire in 3 and 4. I was leaking coolant from overflow but was sure i fixed it. Anyways could a leak above the engine cause it to misfire like that. I had mechanic rip it down and replace head gasket.. said he had heads checked but starting to think he lied. Any known problems with this? It is a Jeep liberty 3.7 4 x4 , which i was sure someone told me was the same a s a kj. Any help would be appreciated. Just dont have any more money to put into. ... I did lose water pump at that time drove for no more than 4 miles, let it cool. Replaced water pump. Drove it for about three months with no problems, coolant loss or anything. Then out of the blue...sorry this is a little backwards.

thadoc8113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-05-2011, 10:55 PM   #2
CherokeeGT
1998 TJ Wrangler 

i would say that because youve got missfires on both banks of the engine that your gonna find that your problem is not something like coolant dripping on your coil packs,

i would pull coils 3 and 4 and switch them with coils 5 and 6

if your codes changes to p0305 and p0306 then you know youve got 2 bad coils

if they dont change then try the same thing with the injectors

(the coils are the most common cause of a missfire code.... and usually as a resuly of an oil leak in the valve cover to the plug)