New Jeep! Getting 9 mpg city - JeepForum.com
Search  
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Liberty Forums > KK Liberty Forum > New Jeep! Getting 9 mpg city

ZONE 4.25" combo lift for TJ available at Rockridge4wJeep Wrangler Bushwacker Flat Fender Flare Sale at BaselinRIGID LED Light Blowout Sale - All Sizes, All Series, all

Unread 09-23-2014, 07:32 PM   #1
abbeymac

New Jeep! Getting 9 mpg city

Hello All-

One week ago I purchased a 2008 Jeep Liberty Sport. 60k miles, 4x4, 4WD, 3.7 L and 6cyl.
I have been driving it in the city for the pass week, and filled up several times, each time keeping a record. After doing the math today I see that I am averaging 8-9mpg

I can literally watch the fuel gauge move down as I am driving. I am a conservative driver- I always keep rpms below 2.5, no harsh braking or accelerating.

I am nervous that I will not be able to afford the fuel this car eats, as I drive approximately 15-20 miles per day for work.

I bought the car used from a dealership, premium warranty.

Thanks!

abbeymac is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Unread 09-23-2014, 07:41 PM   #2
lfhoward
2008 KK Liberty 

Hi abbeymac, you and I are in the same town! I get 12 mpg city with a 4 inch lift and Goodyear Duratracs, so if your KK is stock, then there is definitely something going on. Do you know what maintenance was done prior to you buying it? I would suggest taking care of the easy things first.
1) Change the spark plugs (get regular NGK's or Champions, no platinums or iridiums because our engines don't like these).
2) Change the engine air filter.
3) It may be worth giving the throttle body a good wipe down as well if it is full of carbon.