KK 3.7 same as WK/XK 3.7? - Page 5 - JeepForum.com
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #61 of 69 Old 08-14-2013, 09:25 PM
Gageraid
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Branchburg
Posts: 1,525
Any more updates?

Gageraid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 69 Old 08-15-2013, 06:33 AM
MtBJet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 87
Out of curiosity, how we'll does the intake plenum match up with the new TB diameter? Was it already a bit over-sized or was it flush with the old TB?
MtBJet is offline  
post #63 of 69 Old 08-15-2013, 07:00 AM Thread Starter
huntb
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Grand Haven
Posts: 630
Updates! I filled up the tank yesterday and my MPG went from 14 before I had the new TB to just over 15. This is on top of driving like I stole it because you can definitely notice improved throttle response and passing power on the highway. I was disappointed at first because the PCM hadn't relearned my driving style since I unplugged the battery and I barely felt any changes from stock. It was only after several days when I started noticing the performance improvements. I have also been neglecting an oil change so I only expect fuel mileage to be even higher once I change it.

MtBJet: IIRC the intake plenum matches up with the new throttle body although I might double check to see if it's flush or not. I know its bigger than the stock TB diameter
huntb is offline  
post #64 of 69 Old 08-15-2013, 09:10 AM
Gageraid
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Branchburg
Posts: 1,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by huntb View Post
Updates! I filled up the tank yesterday and my MPG went from 14 before I had the new TB to just over 15. This is on top of driving like I stole it because you can definitely notice improved throttle response and passing power on the highway. I was disappointed at first because the PCM hadn't relearned my driving style since I unplugged the battery and I barely felt any changes from stock. It was only after several days when I started noticing the performance improvements. I have also been neglecting an oil change so I only expect fuel mileage to be even higher once I change it.

MtBJet: IIRC the intake plenum matches up with the new throttle body although I might double check to see if it's flush or not. I know its bigger than the stock TB diameter
Thanks. Does shifting feel normal under heavy/full throttle? I might do this mod one day. Definitely appreciate you trying this out and taking the time to respond to us.
Gageraid is offline  
post #65 of 69 Old 08-15-2013, 09:35 AM Thread Starter
huntb
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Grand Haven
Posts: 630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gageraid View Post
Thanks. Does shifting feel normal under heavy/full throttle? I might do this mod one day. Definitely appreciate you trying this out and taking the time to respond to us.
Yeah, I would say it feels pretty normal. Certainly not anything negative. If anything it feels better/more powerful? Hard to explain. For $100 I would just say try it yourself and see. I got a used one from a 2011 Ram 1500 4.7L off eBay
huntb is offline  
post #66 of 69 Old 08-17-2013, 08:07 AM
myfirstjeep1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: keyport
Posts: 95
You have the hypertech right?
myfirstjeep1 is offline  
post #67 of 69 Old 08-17-2013, 02:56 PM
Gageraid
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Branchburg
Posts: 1,525
Quote:
Originally Posted by myfirstjeep1 View Post
You have the hypertech right?
Huntb and I both do.
Gageraid is offline  
post #68 of 69 Old 08-18-2013, 11:13 AM
isomswim
Registered User
2007 JK Wrangler 
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Plano
Posts: 6
I just got my throttle body in. I found one on ebay but the last two letters were AA and not AB. The two notches on the left side of the pellum did not match up so I mounted the TB upside down. Everything else went on great with a coupler I bought at Autozone and the stock intake. I might have to upgrade to K&N now. No codes are being thrown yet. I'm at sea level but moving to TX soon. We shall see.
isomswim is offline  
post #69 of 69 Old 11-06-2013, 09:46 PM
TIJKK1220
Registered User
2008 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Magnolia
Posts: 126
I know I'm dredging up an old thread but I've got a question for Isomswim and huntb...As far as the stock intake goes, correct me if i'm wrong but it seems that it would be less effective due to the choke from 2.5 to 3 right? personally I'm not entirely sure it would make a whole lot of difference but I'm looking into getting a Brute Force intake sooner eventually but would like to have the TB now lol.
TIJKK1220 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the JeepForum.com forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid e-mail address for yourself.



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome