JeepForum.com

JeepForum.com (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/)
-   KK Liberty Forum (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f292/)
-   -   Flickering Headlights ??? (http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f292/flickering-headlights-1007989/)

mick1836 04-07-2010 10:39 AM

Flickering Headlights ???

In Oct 2007 my wife and I visited the USA our intention to buy an RV and car to tour the USA & Canada. We purchased the brand new shape 2007 Jeep Liberty Ltd KK model.

Now it was very rare that we drove the Jeep at night but on those occasions I noticed as the headlight focused on the rear of a car in front that the beam appeared to ‘flicker’

On one occasion ALL the lights went out for a split second.

I am not an auto electrician but suspected it to be a faulty light switch? :dunno:

We shipped both vehicles back to the UK in August 2010 and still noted the lights flickering.

Since then there have been other electrical problems which may be related?

The clock display and if switch on the radio switching off and on together with ALL the illuminated controls with the radio/CD unit.

Several times now ALL the headlights and ALL dash lights have gone out for a split second.

More recently whilst driving in day light I noticed the green odometer and auto gear engaged display also flickering together with the clock display going on & off.

Now my main concern is that the fault may well be a bad connection somewhere which if left unattended may well result in a fire.

The Jeep has so far being back to a UK Jeep dealer who failed to cure the problem, can you please help?

Mick

Elt31987 04-07-2010 01:11 PM

Have you tried a Brand New Battery? Jeeps go haywire if a battery is not working properly.

mick1836 04-07-2010 03:57 PM

Elt31987,

When I first noticed the flickering the car wasn't one year old,but then I know that even new batteries can fail in less than 1 year.