Error message on dash - JeepForum.com
Search  
Sign Up   Today's Posts
User: Pass: Remember?
Advertise Here
Jeep Home Jeep Forum Jeep Classifieds Jeep Registry JeepSpace Jeep Reviews Jeep Gallery Jeep Clubs Jeep Groups Jeep Videos Jeep Events Jeep Articles
Go Back JeepForum.com > Models > Jeep Liberty Forums > KK Liberty Forum > Error message on dash

Component speaker deal for your dash - NalinMFGPoison Spyder Ricochet RockersROCKRIDGE4WD Introduces a NEW Jeep Wrangler JK *led* tail

Reply
Unread 04-04-2013, 06:31 PM   #1
tj&kj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ct
Posts: 8
Error message on dash

My sons 2008 liberty would not start this morning. Changed battery now were the odometer is says error. I pushed the odometer reset and turned the key on for the dash diagnostic check and it still there. Took it to auto zone and has no codes. Any ideas?


Thanks mike

tj&kj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-05-2013, 04:11 PM   #2
BillyP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Cedar Point, NC
Posts: 65
I don't had a clue, but I'd disconnect the battery for a few minutes and see if it rests.
BillyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-05-2013, 04:53 PM   #3
tj&kj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ct
Posts: 8
Thanks I tried that a couple of times and nothing. Called Jeep and talked to service guy and he never came across this problem. I searched the Internet and It looks like the only fix is a new dash cluster. The cluster alone from jeep is $1000.00 plus install and then it needs to be programmed. Looking at 2K to fix. All this from a dead battery.
tj&kj is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-06-2013, 07:05 AM   #4
griffdiz
Registered User
2012 KK Liberty 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Parma, OH
Posts: 36
My 08 died and would not even click when I tried to start it. Turned out to be a bad control module. It was covered under warranty but only would have been like $250. Another time it wouldn't start and returned out the battery in the key was dead. So maybe it's not something so bad.
griffdiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-06-2013, 08:40 AM   #5
tj&kj
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ct
Posts: 8
Itis starting fine after the new battery. I just don't have a odometer just says error. The more I read it sounds like it needs a new dash cluster. We have two Libertys and a Wrangler and this is the first real problem with any of them. I purchased this 2008 for my son in 2010 with 90k miles on it for cheap and in was/is in showroom condition.
tj&kj is offline   Reply With Quote




Jeep, Wrangler, Cherokee, Grand Cherokee, and other models are copyrighted and trademarked to Jeep/Chrysler Corporation. JeepForum.com is not in any way associated with Jeep or the Chrysler Corp.